NSSN News Nuggets – March 31, 2010


    Williamson Ready For URC Opener
    PALMYRA, Pa. — Veteran sprint-car driver Kramer Williamson will be back behind the wheel for another season of competition in the United Racing Co. Sprint Car Series this season. Williamson, a three-time URC champion, will pilot his own Kramer Kraft chassis as he attempts to capture his fourth series championship during the 2010 season. The URC season will begin April 10 at Bridgeport (N.J.) Speedway.

    Jackson Earns Jetta Cup Funding

    PHOENIX — The Women in the Winner’s Circle Foundation, founded by Lyn St. James, has selected Justine Jackson as the recipient of the new Project Podium Scholarship. Awarded in conjunction with Volkswagen of America, Inc., the scholarship will provide Jackson with funding for a full slate in the SCCA Pro Racing Volkswagen Jetta TDI Cup. “I’m so pleased the partners of the Jetta TDI Cup Series made the decision to support female drivers within our Project Podium grant program,” said St. James. “Justine has worked extremely hard on getting experience to prepare her for this opportunity. We’ll be working with her throughout the season and will do whatever we can to help her be successful.”

    Kevin Swindell Lands Ride

    MOORESVILLE, N.C. — Reigning Chili Bowl champion Kevin Swindell will compete for the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East title this season. Swindell will drive the No. 9 Curb Records Chevrolet through a partnership among Dave Davis Motorpsorts, Curb/Agajanian Motorsports and Curb Records. “I’m really happy that this deal came together with Dave and I can’t wait to compete for a stock-car championship,” said Swindell. “Competing in NASCAR has been a goal of mine since I started racing.”

    Dozen Set For West Coast Hall

    BURBANK, Calif. — Twelve racing veterans will be inducted into the West Coast Stock Car Hall of Fame July 2 at the Azusa (Calif.) Greens Country Club. Joining the Hall in the historic category are Bob Caswell, Bill “Tiny” Clinton, Duane Edwards, Mel Fernandez, Joe Mangini, Jr. and Herb Nab. Elected from the modern era were Allen Beebe, Mike Chase, Rod Osterlund, James Smith and Tom Williamson In addition, Gordon Martin will be inducted in the media category.

    Racer Of The Week

    Former NASCAR racer Shane Hmiel returned to his native North Carolina last week and dominated USAC Mopar National Midget Series competition at Hickory (N.C.) Motor Speedway. Hmiel was fast qualifier and won the feature March 24 and set fast time before rain washed out the following evening’s program.