Nov. 6, 2009 – Johnson Takes Night One At I-30


    Wayne Johnson held off Sammy Swindell to win Thursday night’s 25-lap feature on the opening night of the 22nd annual O’Reilly Short Track Nationals at I-30 Speedway in Little Rock, Ark.

    Ricky Carmichael confirmed Thursday that he will not return to Kevin Harvick Inc. in 2010, instead opting to join Turner Motorsports, a new NASCAR Camping World Truck Series team that will field a team for James Buescher in 19 races next season.

    Raye Vest, a retired businessman and owner of the World of Outlaws Late Model driven by Rick Eckert, died Wednesday. He was 76.

    Matt Crafton captured the pole Thursday for today’s NASCAR Camping World Truck Series WinStar World Casino 350K at Texas Motor Speedway in Forth Worth, Texas, his second pole of the season and third of his career. Todd Bodine will join him on the front row.

    Bryan Clauson led all 25 laps to claim the victory on the opening night of the Oval Nationals USAC National Sprint Car Series event at California’s Perris Auto Speedway.

    Donny Schatz led both qualifying sessions for World of Outlaws sprint cars Thursday night at the Dirt Track @ Lowe’s Motor Speedway, which earned him 10 bonus points towards the series championship. His lead now stands at 29 entering tonight’s event. Darrell Lanigan and Scott Bloomquist split qualifying honors for the Friday and Saturday night programs for the third annual World Finals at the four-tenths-mile dirt track Thursday.

    Kevin Conway plans to attempt all three NASCAR events at Phoenix (Ariz.) Int’l Raceway next weekend with sponsorship from ExtenZe.