Mavrick Carnadore Nabs East Bay LM Main


GIBSONTON, Fla. – Four divisions were on hand for a night of racing at East Bay Raceway Park, with Mavrick Varnadore picking up top honors in the late-model feature.

The first feature event belonged to the Street Stocks. Thomas Pratt and Thomas Burnside won their heat races. For the feature event, it was Pratt and Burnside making up the front row. When the green waved, it was Pratt taking the early lead with current points leader Eric Moon on his back bumper.

But on lap six Moon spun in turn one bringing out the first caution. On the restart, Pratt once again took the lead into turn one with Matthew Grissom right on his back bumper.

A few more cautions came out but it was all Pratt as he picked up his first feature win of the season. Grissom, Dennis Wilson, Jr., Dorsey Strickland and Burnside rounded out the top five.

Next up were the Limited Late Models. Roger Crouse won the heat race. Current points leader Shane Koperda and Rookie candidate Jason Russell made up the front row for the feature.

Shane Koperda led the field into turn one with defending Champion Scotty Williams battling for the first few laps. On lap eight, Koperda and Williams tangled handing the lead over to Crouse, but Williams spun bringing out the caution and handing the lead back over to Koperda reverting to the last lap.

When the final green waved, Koperda was able to hold off Crouse for his second feature win of the season. Russell finished third with Jason Pope and Randy Shields rounding out the top five.

Late Models were next as Phillip Cobb, David Schmauss and Roger Crouse all won their heat races. For the feature, it was the Varnadore brothers on the front row with Mavrick on the pole and older brother Travis on the outside.

Travis took the early lead with Mavrick chasing him lap after lap. But on lap nine Travis ran into lap traffic and Mavrick was able to slip by him on the outside putting Travis back to second. First caution came on lap thirteen as the 95 of Steven Mathis, Jr. spun in turn two.

When the green waved after a caution on lap fourteen, Schmauss moved into the second position looking for a win. Several cautions came out once again, but on the final green flag with just five laps to go, Cobb was putting the pressure on Mavrick but was not able to pass him as Mavrick picked up his second feature win of the season.

Cobb finished second with Schmauss, Travis Varnadore and Wallace Peacock rounding out the top five.

The final feature went to the 4 Cylinder Bombers. Richard Humfeld, Brett Calonge and last week’s feature winner John Moore all won their heat races.

For the feature it was Christian Berger and Moore starting up front. Berger led the first few laps, but on lap five, Calonge took over the top spot and never looked back.

With only one caution during the entire race, Calonge went on to pick up his very first win. Don R. Quinn, Troy Dittebrand, Berger and Moore rounded out the top five.