Hagerstown Is Hardy’s Town


HAGERSTOWN, Md. – Just two weeks after Kyle Hardy scored his first ever Late Model triumph at Hagerstown Speedway/Dirt Capitol, he was back in victory lane with a dominating win in the $2,500 Ernie D’s Auction Enterprises Topless event Saturday.

Hardy was long gone by the time Marvin Winters got past Kerr and saw the checkered 5.740 seconds ahead of him.

Other feature winners included Kyle Lear, who held off a challenging Paul Cursey for his fourth triumph in the Malloy Ford Late Model Sportsman. Darrin Younker held off Chris Ebersole by a mere .031 second in the K. Lynn Management Pure Stock feature, his third of the season. Gary Proctor recorded his seventh win in the Mason Dixon Auto Auction Hobby Stock while Ryan Laye was back in victory lane after also scoring a tenth win in the Cochran Associates Four Cylinders.

It was a four-car invert for the Late Models as Tanner Kerr charged from the pole over C.S. Fitzgerald while Hardy overtook him for second on the second lap and Winters took third on the sixth lap.

Kerr and Hardy raced out front with Hardy pressuring Kerr for the top spot until Fitzgerald slowed on the ninth lap. Kerr chose the inside line for the restart while Hardy overpowered him off the second turn and began to leave Kerr in the wind while Winters was looking at taking the runner up spot.

Winters finally got under Kerr for second on the 22nd lap but Hardy was six seconds ahead and streaking towards the checkered which he took 5.740 seconds ahead while Winters had opened more than three and one half second lead over Kerr. Trever Feathers held off his father Bo as they completed the top five. Winters and Hardy were the heat winners.

“I knew I had to get a good run around the top on that restart because if not, he (Kerr) was going to be hard to pass because he had a good car,” Hardy said. “We got in there a little better and that’s how it is. We had a good car.”

The finish:

Kyle Hardy, Marvin Winters, Tanner Kerr, Trever Feathers, Bo Feathers, BrianTavenner, Frankie Plessinger, Kenny Moreland, Roy Deese Jr., Steve Axtell Jr., Jason Miller, Randy Burkholder, Pancho Lawler, Derrick Casner, Wayne Johnson, C.S. Fitzgerald, Chris Casner, Andy Anderson, Rick Hulson