Cowtown Is Next For ASCS Lone Star Region


KENNEDALE, Texas — Couple a series noted for its variety of different winners with a track that routinely offers up an assortment of victory lane visitors, and you’re certain to have a wild night of racing.

That’s exactly what is in store for this Saturday night as The Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star Region takes to the lightning-fast quarter-mile Cowtown Speedway.

Saturday’s card marks round two of the 2011 The Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star championship chase for a series that featured 14 different winners in 15 main events last year.

Race fans at Cowtown Speedway, a featured ASCS Regional stop over the past seven years, have enjoyed seven different winners in the most recent seven ASCS events including Tommy Bryant, Gary Taylor, Claud Estes, Brian McClelland, Tony Bruce, Jr., Travis Rilat and Kevin Ramey.

To take it one step further, there have been 11 different winners in the last 12 ASCS events at Cowtown dating back to July of 2008 with Ramey the only one to repeat.

The Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star Region kicked off the 2011 season on March 12 at Kilgore’s Lone Star Speedway, with four-time ASCS National champion Gary Wright taking advantage of a late race restart to snatch the win away from defending ASCS Lone Star champion Eric Baldaccini, who slipped back to fifth in the final circuits behind Wright, Oklahoma shoe Matt Covington, Travis Rilat and Sam Hafertepe, Jr.