VanDoorn Survives Battle At Berlin


With Hemric now out in front, he had Bubba Pollard, who had also passed Senneker, on his back bumper. Pollard was looking for the clean sweep of the weekend as the previous night he won the JEGS/CRA All-Stars Tour portion of the weekend.

As Hemric and Pollard brought the field back to the green flag, VanDoorn was charging back towards the front. He worked his way to third as Pollard drove by Hemric to take the lead with 21 laps to go. VanDoorn followed Pollard by Hemric and the battle was on for the lead. With 10 laps to go the home track favorite with a partisan home track crowd cheering him on made the winning pass and drove away to his second straight win in the Battle at Berlin 251, worth $10,000.

Now it’s VanDoorn as well as Hemric left as the only two drivers eligible for the $10,000 bonus left within the $100,000 JEGS Triple Crown Series. If either VanDoorn or Hemric win the 43rd running of the Winchester 400, they will get a $10,000 bonus from If neither driver wins the Winchester 400, then the driver with the most points accumulated in the three Triple Crown Series races will get a $5,000 bonus.

“I went into moron mode and stalled my car on that stop,” said VanDoorn as he explained the mishap on pit road during the first round of pit stops that relegated him back to eighth. “The money is nice though, but come October, I don’t care at all about the money, all I want is that gun (for winning the Winchester 400). I am a racer and the trophy, or in this case, the gun is what matters most. But this win is pretty special though. For VanDoorn Racing Development and for T.K. Racing who have really stepped up to be a part of my brother and I’s business. I’ll remember this one for a long time.”

Pollard finished second, followed by Meeuwsen, Senneker and Travis Braden.

The finish:

Johnny VanDoorn, Bubba Pollard, Ross Meeuwsen, Terry Senneker Jr., Travis Braden, Daniel Hemric, Brandon Hermiller, Grant Quinlan, Wes Griffith Jr., Joe Bush, Ali Kern, Andrew Nylaan, Chris Koslek, Brandon Watson, Paul Shafer Jr., Nick Gullatta, Ross Kenseth, Dave Lake, Rick Turner, Anderson Bowen, Steve Dorer, Terry VanHaitsma, Trevor Berry, Jay Niewiek, Brian Campbell, Jeremy Munniksma, Scott Neal, Chris Davidson, Chad Finley, Lauren Bush.