VanDoorn Controls The Redbud 300


Kenseth said his car got tight after the sun went down,

Braden led following the break by taking no tires, but it was a decision that sent hit rapidly down the scoring list.

VanDoorn took the lead on a restart on lap 154 following a two-car incident, by using the outside line to get around Braden on the back straight. Over the next three laps Braden was passed by VanMeter, Reaid, Kenseth and Terry Fisher Jr.

Eddie VanMeter took the lead from early leader Ross Kenseth following a restart on lap 51 after a multi-car accident in turn two.

Kenseth took the lead from the pole position after the fastest six qualifiers were inverted for the start. VanMeter went to the outside entering turn one and led until the mid-race break.

After passing Kenseth, VanMeter was challenged by Johnny VanDoorn and T.J. Reaid, the fast qualifier. The final 72 laps went caution free until the mid-point break.

The front four drivers maintained a comfortable margin over Joe Beaver, who ran unchallenged for the fifth spot.

The first caution flag came out when rookie of the year contender Brandon Oakley spun after making contact with Beaver in turn two and collected the car of Bubba Pollard, who suffered right front damage.

The second caution flag flew on lap 53 when 2011 race winner made contact with the turn three wall. The final caution of the first half came on lap 70 when J.R. Roahrig spun through the infield grass and hit the turn three outside retaining wall.

The race was slowed six times by caution flags for a total of 46 laps. There were three lead changes among four different drivers.