Three Big Races To Close Out PASS Season


NAPLES, Maine – While the Pro All Stars Series super late model calendar is winding down, there are still three big events left to decide who the champions will be.

The PASS Modified champion will be crowned on Saturday, Oct. 19 at Oxford Plains Speedway as the Maine racing season concludes with the PASS 400 weekend.  The PASS North title will be decided at Oxford Plains and with the season finale at Seekonk Speedway on Saturday, Oct. 26. The PASS National Championship will go down to the wire at Seekonk and the return to racing at Georgia’s Lanier Raceplex.

The PASS 400 weekend at Oxford Plains will see a big Saturday of action featuring the Honey Badger Bar & Grill 150 for the PASS North super late models, plus a $1,000 to win feature for the PASS Modifieds and action for the ACT Flying Tigers, Bandits and Street Stocks.  The PASS Modified season has seen a resurgence in the division with increased car counts and seven different winners so far this year.  The race for the title will come down to points leader Spencer Morse, Jairet Harrison and Mike Carignan.

The battle for the PASS North championship has come down to four drivers, all within 100 points of one another.  New Hampshire’s D.J. Shaw looks to defend his title from a year ago, knowing that a bad finish could prove disastrous with big fields expected at Oxford Plains and Seekonk.  Fellow Granite Stater Derek Griffith has come on strong during the second half of the season and now sits just nine points behind Shaw.  Ben Rowe’s streak of having never missed a PASS North race since the series began in 2001 continues as he seeks his fifth North title. Rookie Gabe Brown is still in contention for his first series championship.

Massachusetts’ Seekonk Speedway will hold the PASS North season finale on Saturday, Oct. 29 and it will double as the penultimate race of the PASS National Championship season which will be decided in November at Lanier.  PASS will be part of a big show at Seekonk which will also feature The Haunted Hundred for the Tri-Track Open Modified Series and a $2,000 to win late model event.

It will all conclude with one of the most anticipated events of the season when PASS brings racing back to Lanier Raceplex for the first time in nearly a decade.  The Lanier National 200 will crown the 2019 PASS National champion and, hopefully, start a new fall tradition at Lanier.

Richmond Raceway winner Mike Hopkins sits 37 points ahead of defending national champion Derek Griffith, while Travis Benjamin, Ben Rowe, Ray Christian III and Jake Johnson still have a shot at the title.

In addition to the PASS Super Late Models at Lanier, Legends cars will return to the three-eighths-mile speedway with Pros/Masters, Semi-Pros and Young Lions, along with Bandoleros.