Tate Fogleman Tames The Howler

Tate Fogleman earned his first PASS South victory of the year on Saturday at Orange County Speedway. (LWPhotos.com Photo)

ROUGEMONT, N.C. – Tate Fogleman claimed the lead just shy of 20 laps from the start and led the rest of the way in a caution-free race for his first Pro All Stars Series South super late model win of the season Saturday night at Orange County Speedway.

The third-generation driver from nearby Durham, N.C., dominated The Howler 150 for a popular win in front of the hometown crowd.

“We’ve raced and practiced a lot here and I was starting to think we would never get a super win here, but I can’t thank these boys enough because we were really struggling in practice,” said Fogleman. “Something we’ve wanted to do all year is prove that we’re one of the best teams out here and we got it done tonight.”

In qualifying, points leader Matt Craig just beat out Jody Measamer for his second quick qualifying time of the year with a lap of 14.083 seconds at 95.860 mph. After the top 10 qualifiers redraw, 2014 PASS South champion Tyler Church and Kodie Conner would move to the front row, while Craig moved back to the sixth starting position.

When the green flag waved Conner would move to the point while Church settled into second in front of Kyle McCallum. McCallum would soon move into second, but would be quickly overtaken by Fogleman on lap 13. Turning some of the quickest laps of the night, Fogleman wasted little time, moving past Conner for the lead just three laps later.

While Fogleman stretched his lead over the field, Craig was slowly making his way to the front, passing Conner for second on lap 60. Kyle Plott, making his PASS South debut, moved around Conner for third on lap 83 and began to set his sights on Craig for second.

Fogleman set a torrid pace at the front of the field, stretching his lead to nearly a straightaway over the battle for second between Craig and Plott.  With less than 15 laps to go, Casey Roderick almost brought out a caution as he got very close to the wall in turn four. With just four laps to go McCallum would slap the wall in turn three but was able to continue.

Fogleman would to dominate to take his second career PASS South victory over Craig, Plott, Dave Farrington Jr., and Conner.

The finish:

Tate Fogleman, Matt Craig, Kyle Plott, Dave Farrington Jr., Kodie Conner, Trevor Noles, Jordan McCallum, Casey Roderick, Jody Measamer, Roy Hayes, Kyle McCallum, J.P. Josiasse, Tyler Church, Jay Fogleman, Donnie Carlton, Ryan Moore.

Previous articleLeggett Rules PDRA World Finals
Next articleJustin Grant Tops USAC-CRA Run
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.