Sweet Sensations At Beech Ridge


SCARBOROUGH, Maine – Nick Sweet became the seventh different American Canadian Tour winner in the seventh event of the 2014 season when the tour visited Beech Ridge Motor Speedway on Saturday.

Sweet led for the majority of the event, but not without fierce contention and multiple lead changes with runner-up finisher Ben Ashline.

Ashline slipped out of the lead after starting on the pole with a plus five in ACT’s unique plus/minus handicap system. Outside pole sitter Stephane Descoste led through the early stages of the event until Sweet took over on the 24th circuit. Sweet made the charge from his 8th place starting position and built a comfortable lead once he reached the point.

Sweet’s lead quickly evaporated when the third caution flag flew on lap 77. Ashline started to Sweet’s outside on the ensuing restart and the pair stayed door-to-door for the next 30 laps. They swapped the lead multiple times including seven official lead changes at the start/finish line during that time. Ashline finally edged by on the outside and Sweet fell in line until the final caution flag of the event on lap 110.

On the final restart, Sweet used the outside lane to gain the advantage and the lead for good. He built a sizable lead over the final forty laps and claimed his fourth career American Canadian Tour win. Ashline held on for second, while current ACT point leader Joey Polewarczyk Jr. spent the majority of the race looking for room to get around the front pair, but had to settle for third. Eddie MacDonald came from the ninth starting spot to take fourth and Jimmy Hebert claimed fifth.

Rowland Robinson Jr., Wayne Helliwell Jr., Travis Fadden, Stephane Descoste, and Brad Babb completed the top 10.

The 150 lap event was completed in 57 minutes and 40 seconds with 10 official lead changes and just five cautions. A total of 15 of the 28 car field were on the lead lap when the checkered flag flew.

The finish:

Nick Sweet, Ben Ashline, Joey Polewarczyk Jr., Eddie MacDonald, Jimmy Hebert, Rowland Robinson Jr., Wayne Helliwell Jr., Travis Fadden, Stephane Descoste, Brad Babb, Glen Luce, Bobby Therrien, Ray Parent, Emily Packard, Travis Stearns, Jim Morris, Kyle Welch, Aaron Fellows, Ryan Morgan, Mike Ziter, Brandon Atkins, Matt Anderson, Richard Staskowski, Brian Tagg, Jimmy Linardy, A.J. Panessiti, John Falconi, Jeff White.