Pierce & Pollard Strike In CARS Tour Opener


KENLY, N.C. – Brandon Pierce and Bubba Pollard each took home victories during the CARS Tour season opening event on Saturday at Southern National Motorsports Park.

Pierce was victorious in the $10,000-to-win, 150-lap late model stock portion of the event. He tracked down JR Motorsports driver Josh Berry in the closing laps, but a caution period with 10 laps left led to a final dash to the checkered flag.

Berry initially got the jump on Pierce and seemed to pull away, but in the final five laps Pierce reeled Berry back in. On the final lap Pierce got to Berry and gave him several shots to the bumper, forcing Berry out of the way and allowing Pierce to earn his first series victory.

Deac McCaskill finished third in the late model stock feature, followed by defending CARS Late Model Stock Tour champion Bobby McCarty and Riley Herbst.

In the 150-lap super late model feature, Pollard took home a $10,000 payday despite late-race pressure from veteran racer Preston Peltier.

Pollard dominated most of the super late model feature, but several late-race cautions allowed the field to stay within striking distance of the Georgia native. Peltier tried to challenge Pollard in the final stages of the race, but came up short and settled for second.

Reigning CARS Super Late Model Tour champion Jared Fryar was third, followed by Stephen Nasse and Mike Speeney.

The finishes:

Late Model Stocks: Brandon Pierce, Josh Berry, Deac McCaskill, Bobby McCarty, Riley Herbst, Layne Riggs, Drew Dollar, Stacy Puryear, Myatt Snider, Justin Carroll, Tommy Lemons Jr., Bradley McCaskill, Taylor Gray, Chad McCumbee, Tyler Matthews, Zack St. Onge, Cameron Bowen, Trevor Ward, Mini Tyrrell, Matt Cox, Camden Gullie, Terry Brooks Jr., Ronald Hill, Jonathan Findley, Craig Moore, Ryan Wilson, Brody Pope, Adam Lemke. 

Super Late Models: Bubba Pollard, Preston Peltier, Jared Fryar, Stephen Nasse, Mike Speeney, Justin Crider, Matt Craig, Trevor Noles, Brandon Lynn, Kodie Conner, Tate Fogleman, Mason Diaz, Dan Speeney, Gracie Trotter, Tyler Church, Molly Helmuth, Nolan Pope, Brandon Setzer, Colin Garrett, Trey Bayne, Tim Hollis, Gabriel Fogg, Jody Measamer, Matt Wallace, Steve Wallace, Jeff Batten, Anthony Cataldi.