Pembroke Secures Milk Bowl Pole


BARRE, Vt. – Two-time Thunder Road Late Model Champion Dave Pembroke claimed the Booth Bros./H.P. Hood Pole Award and will lead the 30 car field to green in the 50th People’s United Bank Milk Bowl at Thunder Road Int’l Speedbowl on Sunday.

Pembroke set the fast time of 12.956 during Saturday’s qualifying to just edge out three-time Milk Bowl Champion Brian Hoar.

2012 Thunder Road Champion Nick Sweet, Austin Theriault and three-time Thunder Road Champion Cris Michaud won the three Triple 50 qualifiers and will complete the top five in the starting line-up for segment No. 1. Cody Blake, Travis Fadden, Joey Polewarczyk, Jr., Trampas Demers and Brooks Clark will start in the top ten.

The Bond Auto Tiger Sportsmen ran the first of their two segment Milk Bowl. Bobby Therrien claimed the pole position from time trials and won the first segment. Jason Allen recovered from a hard wreck in practice to take second. Current Tiger point leader Brendan Moodie took third followed by Shawn Fleury and Tucker Williams.

Bunker Hodgdon broke through for victory in segment 1 of the Allen Lumber Street Stocks Milk Bowl. Garry Bashaw chased Hodgdon to the line, while Jamie Davis completed the podium. Ben Belanger and current Street Stock point leader Nick Pilotte rounded out the top five.

The 50th People’s United Bank Milk Bowl is set to begin with opening ceremonies at 1 p.m. on Sunday. The first segment will roll out at 1:30 p.m. The 50th Milk Bowl Champion will be crowned following the three segments with a total of 200 laps.

Late Model teams that did not qualify for the Milk Bowl will run their own two-segment 100-lap Mini-Milk Bowl. The Bond Auto Tiger Sportsmen and Allen Lumber Street Stocks will run their second segments to decide their Milk Bowl winners and 2012 champions as well.