PASS Confirms National Championship Dates

National Championship
Ben Rowe is the defending PASS National Championship Series champion. (Adam Fenwick Photo)

NAPLES, Maine – Pro All Stars Series officials have released the six dates and locations that will make up the 10th annual PASS National Championship Series.

The schedule is comprised of six super late model events that are part of the PASS North and PASS South schedules. Combined the six races will determine an overall PASS National champion.

The PASS National Championship Series will see the champion crowned for the first time at the 44th annual Oxford 250 at Oxford Plains Speedway in August.  The PASS National Championship Series will also return to North Carolina’s Orange County Speedway next March for the first time since 2014.

“Ten years ago, with our presence across the Eastern Seaboard and Canada, we felt the time was right to crown super late model racing’s true National champion,” said PASS President Tom Mayberry.  “We’re very happy to be able to announce the PASS National Championship schedule for 2017 at such an early date.  These events exemplify what’s great about short track racing and we feel each of them will attract the best Super Late Model drivers from across the continent.  We’re also very happy to crown the 2017 PASS National Champion at the 44th annual Oxford 250 for the first time in history.  It’s just another layer added to make this great race even better.”

The PASS National Championship Series, along with the PASS South championship season, gets underway in just more than two months with the Winter Meltdown at the South Carolina Clash at Dillon Motor Speedway in South Carolina on Feb. 4.  The event will pay $6,000 to the winner.

After Dillon Motor Speedway in February, the PASS National Championship Series will visit one of the most traditional stops in the south as PASS returns to Orange County Speedway in Rougemont, N.C., for the first time since 2014.  The 10th running of the Orange Blossom Special will be held on March 25 and feature 150 laps of racing.

Race three of the 2017 PASS National Championship Series will be the first of the year in New England. PASS will compete for 75 laps at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park in Connecticut as part of the annual Icebreaker weekend April 1-2, along with the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour.  The Icebreaker will also once again double as the PASS North Super Late Model championship season opener.

The PASS National Championship Series will then head back south to the legendary Hickory Motor Speedway in North Carolina on April 15 for the 12th annual Easter Bunny 150.

Next up, the PASS National Championship Series will conclude a busy month of April at Beech Ridge Motor Speedway in Scarborough, Maine with the Beech Ridge 300 on April 29.

The final race on the 2017 PASS National Championship Series will be, as mentioned, the 44th annual Oxford 250 at Maine’s Oxford Plains Speedway on Aug. 27. The event will offer a $25,000 winner’s share as well as additional bonus money.