Okrzesik Bests Busch During CRA Speedfest

Connor Okrzesik (14) races under Bubba Pollard during the 2019 edition of SpeedFest at Crisp Motorsports Park. (David Sink Photo)

CORDELE, Ga. – Connor Okrzesik outran 2015 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series champion Kyle Busch to win the super late model portion of CRA Speedfest Saturday at Crisp Motorsports Park.

Okrzesik was leading when the caution flag waved with five laps left in the 200-lap event for a spin by Tate Fogleman. That allowed Busch, who was running second, to close the gap for the ensuing restart.

The 17-year-old Alabama native didn’t late Busch phase him as he quickly pulled away during the restart, easily besting Busch to pick up the victory in the annual non-points event for the ARCA/CRA Super Series.

Busch survived a late challenge from Harrison Burton to finish second, with Burton completing the podium in third. Chandler Smith and Stephen Nasse completed the top-five.

Casey Roderick won the companion pro late model event for the JEGS/CRA All-Stars Tour.

The finish:

Connor Okrzesik, Kyle Busch, Harrison Burton, Chandler Smith, Stephen Nasse, Scotty Ellis, Casey Roderick, Brian Campbell, Chris Dilbeck, Anthony Sergi, Kyle Plott, Corey Heim, Kyle McCallum, Daniel Webster, Brandon Herbert, Josh Brock, Kyle Bryant, Austin Thaxton, Nolan Pope, Bubba Pollard, Rich Bickle, Tate Fogleman, Steve Dorer, Jeff Fultz, Hudson Halder, Jerry Artuso.