Noles Earns $10,000 Orange County Prize


ROUGEMONT, N.C. – Trevor Noles overcame a flat tire late in the race to storm back through the field and win the CARS Super Late Model Tour Mid-Atlantic Classic Saturday at Orange County Speedway.

The victory was worth $10,000 for Noles.

Noles felt a tire go down moments before a caution flag on lap 120 and was able to get his car to pit road. He restarted the race from the tail of the field, but was helped by a caution for a spinning Brandon Setzer.

He continued to slice his way through the pack, catching the lead duo of Matt Craig and Giovanni Bromante. He quickly dispatched Bromante before engaging in a duel with Craig for the lead, a duel Noles would eventually win.

Noles survived one final restart after a crash on the white flag lap, holding off Craig to collect the $10,000 payday.

Bromante ended up third, followed by Corey Heim and Stephen Nasse.

In the companion 100-lap CARS Late Model Stock Tour event, Bobby McCarty put together a dominant performance to earn his second victory of the season and take the series points lead in the process.

McCarty qualified mid-pack, but that allowed him to miss an early melee caused by an engine failure in Josh Berry’s car that collected a slew of contenders.

That allowed McCarty to move up to third and a few laps after the restart took the lead from Justin Carroll. He wouldn’t give up the lead again as he cruised to victory and the series points lead.

Sammy Smith finished second, followed by Jonathan Findley, Carroll and Deac McCaskill.

The finishes:

Super Late Models: Trevor Noles, Matt Craig, Giovanni Bromante, Corey Heim, Stephen Nasse, Jared Fryar, Nolan Pope, Matt Wallace, Molly Helmuth, Carson Kvapil, Jeff Batten, Kyle Plott, Toby Grynewicz, Kodie Conner, Tate Fogleman, Steve Wallace, Eric Nash, Brandon Setzer, Mike Speeney.

Late Model Stocks: Bobby McCarty, Sammy Smith, Jonathan Findley, Justin Carroll, Deac McCaskill, Taylor Gray, Tyler Matthews, Drew Dollar, Ronald Hill, Camden Gullie, Mini Tyrrell, Brandon Pierce, Adam Lemke, Jeff Oakley, Sarah Cornett-Ching, Jessica Cann, Layne Riggs, Terry Dease, Josh Berry, Craig Moore, Trevor Ward, Brody Pope.