Nine Former Winners Target Milk Bowl

Brian Hoar
Brian Hoar
Brian Hoar

WATERBURY, Vt. — The Peoples United Bank Milk Bowl at Thunder Road Int’l Speedbowl Sunay will welcome back nine former champions of the prestigious event.

Between the nine former champions who will compete in the 51st running of the Milk Bowl is a group of champions who have earned the right to lift the legendary milk can 15 times.

Eight-time ACT champion Brian Hoar and four-time ACT champion Patrick Laperle each have won the race three times and will be looking to tie Robbie Crouch’s record of four Milk Bowl victories.

“It really is unique in racing. First, it’s not 150 or 200 laps of straight racing,” explained Hoar. “Next, it is Thunder Road, which is a challenge in any race, and finally, there are going to be 20-plus regular weekly Thunder Road teams who race 50-lap segments every Thursday night. All these factors make it a very tough race. I love it. It is old-fashioned, get-up-on-the-wheel, hold-your-breath and hang on.”

When Laperle was asked why he put the Peoples United Bank Milk Bowl on his reduced schedule this year, Laperle answered, “Well, to be sure, I want to try out the new American Racer tires; also, my fans and team really enjoy camping at Thunder Road. The Milk Bowl is very, very tough to win. It takes a lot of luck, but the best part is it pays $10,000.”

Vermont favorites Phil Scott and David Pembroke are two long-time regular Thunder Road racers who will be there. Scott has won three Thunder Road championships and Pembroke has two “King of the Road” titles. They both have two Milk Bowl championships to their credit. Jean-Paul Cyr is another favorite with both a Thunder Road track title and a Milk Bowl win.

Tour regulars Joey Polewarczyk Jr. and Brent Dragon will each look for a second win. John Donahue and three-time Thunder Road champion Cris Michaud have each won the honor to kiss the cow in the Milk Bowl victory lane.



Previous articleCU To Support Red Bull In Korea
Next articleBeckman Knows Funny Car History is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.