Moore & Heim Split CARS Tour Finale


SOUTH BOSTON, Va. – Craig Moore and Corey Heim each picked up their first CARS Tour victories during the season finale on Saturday at South Boston Speedway.

Moore found himself in contention in the CARS Late Model Stock Tour feature after Nelson Motorsports teammates Timothy Peters and Brandon Pierce made contact under caution. That opened the door for Moore, who rocketed into the lead during a lap-73 restart.

From there Moore held off challenges from Lee Pulliam and Deac McCaskill to register his first series victory. McCaskill finished second ahead of Pulliam, Josh Berry and Pierce.

It wasn’t all bad for Nelson Motorsports as the team’s third driver, Bobby McCarthy, clinched his first series championship in the late model stock class.

In the CARS Super Late Model Tour feature, Heim had to fend off a challenge from a determined Anthony Cataldi to earn his first series victory. Heim was leading late, but Cataldi made a late charge to nearly steal the victory.

Cataldi managed to get by Heim with six laps left, but Heim executed a crossover move on the next lap to regain the race lead. He held on to it for the rest of the race to earn his first series victory.

Cataldi settled for second ahead of Brandon Lynn, Tate Fogleman and Nolan Pope.

Jared Fryar clinched the CARS Super Late Model Tour championship with a 12th-place finish.

The finishes:

Late Model Stocks: Craig Moore, Deac McCaskill, Lee Pulliam, Josh Berry, Brandon Pierce, Ty Gibbs, Trevor Ward, Sam Mayer, Bobby McCarthy, Tyler Hughes, Stacy Puryear, Grayson Cullather, Charlie Watson, Austin Thaxton, Mason Diaz, Eric Winslow, Timothy Peters, Ronald Hill, Mini Tyrrell, Jessica Dana, Colin Garrett, Cole Glasson, Jacob Heafner, Logan Jones, Chris Denny, Mason Hudson, Rodney Boyd, Layne Riggs.

Super Late Models: Corey Heim, Anthony Cataldi, Brandon Lynn, Tate Fogleman, Nolan Pope, Jeff Batten, Matt Wallace, Tyler Church, Molly Helmuth, Taylor Stricklin, Darrell Gilchrist, Jared Fryar, Mike Wallace, Mike Speeney, Dean Ward, Ryan Matthews, Colin Garrett.