Montmagny LM Accolades To Dery


MONTMAGNY, Quebec — Jean-François Déry claimed his third Série ACT Castrol win of the season in the Montmagny 150 at Autodrome Montmagny on Saturday. Déry inherited the lead on lap 124 after leader Patrick Laperle had a wheel break on the right front. Déry held off Dany Trepanier for two more restarts to take the win, while Laperle recovered to finish third.

Laperle took the starting grid in 13th, but picked up several spots following a large pile-up coming down to the initial green. The event was red flagged while pole-sitter Yannick Tremblay, Patrick Cliche, Marco Savoie and Daniel Descoste had to be separated from the inside wall. Laperle would take the green in the seventh spot on the rear bumper of David Michaud. The first 100 laps of the event saw an all out war between point leader Laperle and Michaud.

The two got to the point on lap seven and swapped the lead several times over the next 93 laps. Michaud seemed to have the edge running the high side and opened up a straight away lead after Laperle fell into the clutches of Déry during long green flag run. Laperle would get the advantage, however, on the lap 100 restart and build his own lead.

The defending Série ACT Castrol Champion seemed to have the race in hand until coming off of turn two on the 125th circuit, the center of his wheel broke nearly sending him into the wall. Déry took over the lead and fought off Trepanier for the win. With just eight cars on the lead lap, Laperle got back to third place over the final 25 laps. Michaud rebounded from a tire going soft to take fourth, while Donald Theetge, who received some front end damage in the first accident of the night, completed the top five. Jonathan Bouvrette, Patrick Hamel, Daniel Descoste, William Roberge and Karl Allard, who also received damage in the initial caution, completed the top ten.

The event saw 23 ACT Late Models take the grid. Eight cars completed the 150-lap distance with 17 cars on the track for the checkered flag. The event was completed in 1 hour, 22 minutes and 41 seconds, including a 15-minute red flag period. The red flag was the first of seven caution periods.

The finish:

Jean-Francois Dery, Dany Trepanier, Patrick Laperle, David Michaud, Donald Theetge, Jonathan Bouvrette, Patrick Hamel, Daniel Descoste, William Roberge, Karl Allard, Simon Roussin, Gaetan Lauzier, Rejean Bissonnette, Jacques Poulin, Marc Beaudoin, Patrick Boyer, Patrick Cliche, Etienne Cliche, Gaetan Gaudreault, Jonathan Desbiens, Claude Leclerc, Yannick Tremblay, Marco Savoie.



Previous articleKulhanek Wrestles Gator Foes
Next articleCrystal Sprint Belongs To Daggett is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.