Milwaukee Mile Next For ARCA Midwest Tour

A stacked field is expected for the return of super late model racing to The Milwaukee Mile on Sunday.
A stacked field is expected for the return of super late model racing to The Milwaukee Mile on Sunday.

WEST ALLIS, Wis. – More than 40 super late model drivers from 11 states will invade The Milwaukee Mile on June 16 for the running of the ARCA Midwest Tour Father’s Day 100.

Champions from across the short track racing scene have filed entries for the Sunday afternoon contest, marking the return of racing to The Milwaukee Mile for the first time in four years.

Four drivers that have garnered eight ARCA Midwest Tour championships will lead the charge for the Midwest Sunday. Two-time ARCA Midwest Tour champion Dan Fredrickson is the only one of the four to have tasted victory at Milwaukee, the 2008 and 2013 Champ won a MARS Series event in West Allis in 2004.

One of the few tracks that four-time champ Ty Majeski has not won on in his home state is The Milwaukee Mile. The all-time Tour win leader with 19 victories is coming off back to back ARCA Menards Series wins at Charlotte Motor Speedway and Pocono Raceway and came up just short of a third win at Michigan Int’l Speedway last weekend, surrendering the lead on the final lap as he ran out of fuel.

The two drivers with the most recent Tour success have been Andrew Morrissey and Dalton Zehr. Morrissey, the 2011 Tour champion, posted two wins last season, including a victory in the 49th annual Oktoberfest Race Weekend at LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway. Making his first Midwest Tour start of the season will be reigning champion Zehr. He comes into Milwaukee with three Tour wins to go along with numerous victories throughout the region.

Colorado’s Preston Peltier has thrown his hat into the ring for Sunday as well. The veteran driver visited victory lane in SRL competition at Irwindale Speedway this April. The 2010 PASS champion has five Easter Bunny 150 victories at Hickory Motor Speedway, in addition to big wins at the World Cup 300 and the Challenge Cup at Colorado National.

Another PASS champion that has entered is three-time and defending PASS South champion Matt Craig. Craig has nine PASS wins to his credit in his young career. Reigning ARCA/CRA Super Series champion Josh Brock will be making his first Midwest Tour attempt, while 2016 Southern Super Series champion and 2017 All-American 400 winner Donnie Wilson looks to add another marquee win.

Massachusetts’ Eddie MacDonald has also filed a surprise entry. He has four wins at New Hampshire Motor Speedway, another mile track, two in NASCAR K&N Pro Series East action and two in ACT competition. MacDonald has also notched an Oxford 250 victory and has won at Bristol Motor Speedway, one of his seven NASCAR K&N Pro Series East wins.

Others who have filed entries or are expected to file entries include ARCA Midwest Tour points leader Casey Johnson, Jeff VanOudenhoven, Bobby Kendall, Maxwell Schultz, Paul Shafer Jr., Ricky Baker, Boris Jurkovich, Rick Bickle Jr., Austin Nason, Carson Kvapil, John Beale, Ryan Farrell, Justin Mondiek, Gabe Sommers, Jason Weinkauf and John DeAngelis Jr.