Majeski Finally Conquers The Dixieland 250

Majeski Finally Conquers
Ty Majeski, seen here earlier this year, won Tuesday night's Dixieland 250. (Stan Kalwasinski photo)

KAUKAUNA, Wis. – Tuesday night’s Dixieland 250 at Wisconsin Int’l Raceway saw Ty Majeski finally fill a longtime void in his super late model trophy case.

Majeski, who had never won the crown jewel event in any of his previous attempts, finally checked that box off his to-do list with an impressive late-race charge to victory.

The Seymour, Wis., native – who grew up 15 miles from WIR – passed Austin Nason with 45 laps to go and went on to score the $10,000 win at his home race track.

In the process, Majeski completed the triple crown of Wisconsin super late model racing, with his Dixieland 250 win joining previous victories in the Slinger Nationals and Joe Shear Classic.

Though several yellow flags in the final 25 circuits kept Majeski’s competition, like runner-up John DeAngelis Jr., right on his bumper for the closing stages, Majeski never faltered and mastered each subsequent restart en route to the win in his familiar No. 91 machine.

It continued a torrid stretch for Majeski of late, after also winning the Blue race of the Red-White-Blue Series at WIR on Thursday by topping qualifying, his dash race and sweeping a pair of twin 35-lap features.

DeAngelis finished second after 250 laps, coming in 2.685 seconds adrift of Majeski at the checkered flag. Dan Frederickson crossed third, followed by Nason, who faded back to fourth after losing the lead to Majeski.

Carson Kvapil completed the top five, ahead of NASCAR K&N Pro Series West point leader Derek Kraus, Paul Shafer, Bobby Kendall, Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series star Daniel Hemric and Eddie MacDonald.

The finish:

Ty Majeski, John DeAngelis Jr., Dan Fredrickson, Austin Nason, Carson Kvapil, Derek Kraus, Paul Shafer, Bobby Kendall, Daniel Hemric, Eddie MacDonald, Dennis Prunty, Luke Fenhaus, Tim Lampman, Casey Johnson, Brett Yackey, Gabe Sommers, Jeff VanOudenhoven, Grant Griesbach, Rich Bickle Jr., Mike Reichenberger, Kyle Calmes, Andrew Brocker, Andrew Morrissey, Justin Mondeik, Chris Weinkauf, Andy Monday, Brent Strelka, Cory Manders, Pete Vandermolen.