BAKERSFIELD, Calif. – Ty Majeski was declared the winner of the SRL Winter Showdown on Saturday at Kern County Raceway Park after the race was called after 172 of 300 laps because of darkness.

A power outage in the area had left the facility without power, but officials opted to start the race under daylight in the hopes that power would be restored before the sun went down.

Jeremy Doss dominated much of the early portion of the event, leading 99 of the first 100 laps. However, a restart following a round of pit stops on lap 115 resulted in a massive crash that collected Doss and several other contenders. That left Preston Peltier with the race lead.

Once the incident was cleaned up Majeski made his move, taking the lead on lap 117. He held the lead until officials opted to stop the race on lap 172 become of darkness.

Officials gave local government officials one hour to restore power to the facility, but when power wasn’t restored within that hour event officials declared Majeski the winner of the race.

Ironically, power was restored to Kern County Raceway Park less than 10 minutes after the race was declared official. Majeski’s victory was worth more than $30,000.

Derek Thorn, who won the Winter Showdown in 2017, finished second. Peltier finished third ahead of Willie Allen and Ryan Reed.

Trevor Christiani won the companion SPEARS Manufacturing Modified Series event.

The finish:

Ty Majeski, Derek Thorn, Preston Peltier, Willie Allen, Ryan Reed, John Moore, Kyle Neveau, Carlos Vieira, Tracy Bolin, Tyler Fabozzi, Brad Kossow, Jeremy Doss, Bob Lyon, Doni Wanat, Bear Rzesnowiecky, Donnie Wilson, Luke Hall, Austin Herzog, Jace Hansen, Andy Allen, Derek Kraus, Logan Bearden, Eric Holmes, Eric Schmidt, Tyler Ankrum, Mike Longton, Logan Bearden, Cole Moore, Jacob Gomes, Jason Fraser, Tyler Tanner, Logan Jewell, Jack Wood, Chris Davidson, Dan Holtz, Dylan Lupton, Dylan Caldwell.