JEGS/CRA Tour Heading To Springport


SALEM, Ind. – The JEGS/CRA All-Stars Tour Presented by Chevrolet Performance will be back in action this Saturday night with the Springport Fall Brawl 100 Presented by at Springport (Mich.) Motor Speedway.

Saturday’s race at the three-eighths-mile oval will be the 10th event in the now 12 race 2013 schedule for the Crate Motor Series sanctioned by Champion Racing Association Powered by JEGS, after last weekend’s canceled event at Owosso Speedway because of rain. Saturday’s event was originally scheduled to be the series 2013 season opener on April 28, but the event had to be rescheduled after threatening weather forced the event to be postponed.

Topping the list of 28 entries to date for Saturday’s Springport Fall Brawl 100 Presented by for the JEGS/CRA All-Stars Tour is current points’ leader Cody Coughlin. The 17 year old Delaware, Ohio, native has been a top the points for most of the 2013 season with two wins so far this season at Salem Speedway and at Dixie Motor Speedway. When he’s not winning, Coughlin has had consistent top finishes including Labor Day Weekend’s second place finish at Winchester Speedway which has allowed him to grow his point lead to 49 with three events remaining in the 2013 season.

Tom Woodin, currently second in the championship standings, is entered along with Dan Leeck, who is third in series points after a hard crash Labor Day Weekend at Winchester dropped him out of second place. Other top series competitors who are entered include Jerrod Foley, Jimmy Novak, Jay Sommers and the large group of Howie Lettow Rookie of the Year Presented by Howe Racing candidates including current rookie point’s leader Corey Deuser, as well as fellow rookies Jake Griffin, Kyle Crump, Kody Evans, Dominique Van Wieringen, Hunter Baize, Marc Jacobs and Jaxson Jacobs.

There will be plenty of competition for the series regulars at Owosso Speedway on Saturday night including former series regular Brandon Hermiller, who is racing in selected series events in 2013. Richmond, Michigan veteran racer Bob Varney will also jump back behind the wheel of Pat Zorn’s No. 43 car to race Saturday night, it will be Varney’s first race since competing in the series Owosso event last year.

Veteran ARCA Racing Series and Outlaw Late Model competitor Michael Simko will make his series debut in Larry Varney’s No. 16 a. Two Berlin Raceway top regulars Chris Koslek and Lauran Bush are also entered along with Wisconsin racer Keith Tolf and Texas teenage Cole Glasson.

Several other Michigan drivers will be competing in Saturday night’s race including Birch Run native Robbie Johnson, winner of the series event at Auto City Speedway on Aug. 10 as well as Clio residents David McManus and Kyle Hayden. Also Corunna’s Leo Smith is entered along with Macomb’s Eric Lee, Watervliet’s Jon Beach and Kalamazoo’s Jerry Andrews in his series debut.

Previous articleLangdon Ready To Repeat At zMAX
Next articleSCCA To Stream Runoffs Online is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.