Impressive List Of UARA Rookies


HENDERSONVILLE, N.C. – After a record breaking season with 11 rookies in 2012, the United Auto Racing Ass’n (UARA) will welcome a new freshmen class to the tour in 2013.

While some new drivers are still getting their paperwork in order, four drivers have are confirmed to be a part of UARA’s 2013 Rookie class: Michael Leavine, Garrett Jones, David Garbo Jr. and Dylan Hall.

The rookie program is to develop drivers who have not competed in more than six UARA races during previous seasons. Fat Head Racing’s David Garbo Jr. began getting familiar with the tour last season as he ran six races in the No. 8 Stanley Ford Fusion.

He made his series debut during the Banjo Matthews Memorial at Hickory (N.C.) Motor Speedway in June and brought home a fifth-place finish, proving he will be a driver to keep your eye on.

Former NASCAR competitor Shane Hall has passed down his racing genes to his 14-year-old son Dylan. Hall made his UARA debut last season during the tour’s second visit to Anderson Motor Speedway. During that event, Hall missed an early caution and brought home a 16th place finish in a 21 car field.

He followed that up with his second UARA visit the following week at Tri-County Motor Speedway, bringing home a respectable 11th-place finish out of a 25 car field.

Leavine and Jones have not yet raced in a UARA event, but have had plenty of experience with late model-like cars. Leavine ran in the ARCA Racing Series for the past two years, while his teammate Scott Speed will compete in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series.

The 23 year-old Texan is a development driver of Leavine Family Racing. Leavine had hoped to run the UARA season finale at Rockingham, but engine failure in practice ended his hopes early.

For the few years that Jones has spent in the motorsport industry, he has definitely turned some heads and made a name for himself. During Dillon Motor Speedway’s 2012 Independence Day celebration, the 12 year-old out ran the other local competitors and won the Charger division event.

Each of these drivers have impressive resumes and are expected to contend in 2013.

Previous articleHerrera Ready For 2013 Despite Back Pain
Next articleVIDEO: Antron Brown OK After Big Crash is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.