Hoar Earns 40th ACT Late Model Triumph


WEST HAVEN, Vt. – Brian Hoar earned his 40th career American Canadian Tour late-model victory with his Spring Green 114 triumph Sunday at Devil’s Bowl Speedway.

Hoar pulled by Joey Polewarczyk Jr. on the final restart of the event and cruised to the win over the final eight laps. It was Hoar’s fourth Spring Green win.

Aaron Fellows set the pace from the pole position for the first half of the event. He earned the pole position after securing a +5 in ACT’s unique plus/minus system. Through the early stages of the event Fellows held off Jamie Fisher, who challenged him every step of the way.

Polewarczyk steadily marched his way from his ninth-place starting position to take over the lead just after halfway. He proceeded to build a healthy lead and worked his way through heavy lapped traffic until the event was slowed by the second caution on lap 100.

Following two more quick cautions, Polewarczyk’s lapped car buffer had dwindled from several cars to just one car. Hoar had maneuvered himself from his 12th starting position to second on the field and directly behind Polewarczyk on the lap 101 restart. The seven-time ACT champion got around the one remaining lapped car, but didn’t appear to have anything for Polewarczyk.

However the final caution flag would fly on lap 106 bringing Hoar to the outside of Polewarczyk on the ensuing restart. Hoar motored by and didn’t look back over the final eight laps. Polewarczyk settled for second followed by Wayne Helliwell Jr., Stephane Descoste and Nick Sweet. Emily Packard, Jimmy Hebert, Bobby Therrien, Brandon Atkins and Ray Parent completed the top 10.

Fellows and Fisher had solid runs and a fierce battle at the front before having issues in the final laps and finishing 26th and 12th respectively. Fellows made hard contact with the front stretch wall before flying off turn one and hitting another wall bringing out the lap 100 caution. He was slightly banged up but walked away from the wreck. Fisher had a flat tire sending him spinning and bringing out the final caution on lap 106. He managed to change the tire and stay on the lead lap.

Hoar becomes the fifth different winner in five ACT events so far this season. He pockets the $1,000 bonus and a spot in the Bond Auto ACT Invitational at New Hampshire Motor Speedway on Sept. 20.

The finish:

Brian Hoar, Joey Polewarczyk Jr., Wayne Helliwell Jr., Stephane Descoste, Nick Sweet, Emily Packard, Jimmy Hebert, Bobby Therrien, Brandon Atkins, Ray Parent, Rowland Robinson Jr., Jamie Fisher, Lance Allen, Travis Stearns, Robert Bryant Jr., Joey Laquerre, Ben Ashline, Ricky Bly, Kyle Welch, Todd Davis, Jason Masterson, Brian Tagg, James Linardy, Matt Anderson, Mike Ziter, Aaron Fellows, Jeff White, A.J. Panessiti, Richard Staskowski, Patrick Emerling, Ryan Morgan, Dan St. Hilare, John Falconi, Luke Hinkley.