Helliwell & Dery Take ACT Banquet Honors


BURLINGTON, Vt. – The American Canadian Tour (ACT) held its annual Banquet of Champions at the Doubletree Inn in Burlington, Vt., on Saturday.

ACT honored its 2013 champions and top ten competitors from the Northeastern U.S.-based ACT Late Model Tour and the Quebec-based Série ACT. ACT Late Model competitors from across the region battled in point counting and special events for their share of over $900,000 in purses and point funds during 2013.

Wayne Helliwell Jr. and car owner Bruce Bernhardt earned their second straight ACT Late Model Tour title in 2013. Helliwell defended his 2012 title with two feature wins and another ACT Championship. He and his team narrowly avoided disaster in the final event of the season and hung on to their slim lead to earn the title. Helliwell and Bernhardt also claimed the Ford Blue Oval Cup title for the fourth straight season.

Jean-François Déry claimed his first career Série ACT Championship in one of the closest battles in Série history. The veteran Série ACT competitor and perennial frontrunner picked up two feature wins during his title bid. He claimed the championship by just eight points in the highly competitive series that visits several tracks across the province of Quebec.

Brothers Denis and Louis Larue were awarded the prestigious Don MacTavish Award for their support and dedication to ACT and the sport of stock car racing. The Larue brothers have owned and managed a top-tier team on the Série ACT since its inception in 2007. They continue to be an integral part of the success of the Quebec-based series.

The annual Crew Chief of the Year Awards were also presented for both the ACT U.S. and the Série ACT at the banquet. Joe Polewarczyk earned the U.S. award after turning wrenches and spotting for his son Joey Polewarczyk Jr. The Polewarczyk team finished second in the standings after claiming four feature wins in 2013. Andre Beaudoin received the honors for the Série ACT Crew Chief of the Year Award. As a former driver-turned-crew chief, Beaudoin helped guide driver Alex Labbe and the Larue team to a runner-up finish in the 2013 standings.

Rookie of the Year Awards went to Bobby Therrien (ACT U.S.) and Martin Goulet Jr. (Série ACT). Therrien joined a short list of drivers to earn a feature win during their rookie season on his way to the rookie title. Goulet steadily improved during his first season on the Série ACT and claimed a top ten in the final standings.

Previous articleAMASX: Chase Field
Next articlePASS Winter Meltdown Entries Flowing In
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.