Gerry Continues Oxford Plains Domination


OXFORD Maine – Curtis Gerry is a hard man to beat when he gets his super late model dialed in at Oxford Plains Speedway.

The Maine native, who has three weekly victories at Oxford this year, won Sunday’s Pro All Stars Series super late model feature at the historic Maine oval. He also won last Sunday’s PASS Open 100-lapper.

“We needed this one” Gerry said in victory lane.

His rivals would beg to differ.  At times it looked like a couple of his fellow competitors might have something for Gerry, as a partial cloud cover saw track conditions change several times during the 150-lapper.

Ben Rowe, a nine-time PASS champion, appeared poised to break his dry spell. He took a turn or two in front of the field and waged a couple of great battles for the top spot with both Nick Sweet and Ben Ashline.

Ashline, in Ajay Picard’s No. 99, looked like the man to beat early in the 150-lap event, but behind Gerry the late-race entertainment was a Rowe/Sweet clash for runner-up honors, won by Rowe.  Sweet, right in the thick of the PASS North championship battle, brought another trophy home to the Green Mountain State after a third-place run.

Eddie MacDonald crossed the finish line in fourth spot.  Reid Lanpher completed the top-five rundown.

Tyler King nailed down his first PASS Mods victory, using the outside groove early and often in the 40-lap race to earn the top step on the podium in his fourth race in the open-wheel class.

Kyle Hewins led almost all the way to earn his first Street Stock victory of the year in the 50-lap Honey Badger Bar & Grill Series race.

The finish:

Curtis Gerry, Ben Rowe, Nick Sweet, Eddie MacDonald, Reid Lanpher, Ben Ashline, Johnny Clark, Garrett Hall, Travis Benjamin, Cole Butcher, Kelly Moore, Cassius Clark, Mike Rowe, Tracy Gordon, D.J. Shaw, Billy Rodgers, Gabe Brown, Alan Tardiff, Scott McDaniel, Jake Johnson, Ryan Robbins, Bobby Therrien, Nick Jenkins, Jeremy Davis, Michael Scorzelli, Craig Weinstein, Derek Griffith, Jeff White.