Final Tune-Up For Oxford 250 This Sunday


NAPLES, Maine – With two weeks remaining before the green flag drops on the 46th annual Oxford 250, Pro All Stars Series North Super Late Model drivers will get one last chance this weekend to prep at Oxford Plains Speedway.

The Honey Badger Bar & Grill 150 on Sunday afternoon will give racers their best opportunity to hit the track in similar conditions to those they will experience in the 250. As the last race in The Road To The Oxford 250 program, a final group of drivers will get the honor of being locked in to the Oxford 250.

Competitors will have the opportunity to race for one of the richest winner’s purses in asphalt short track racing, with $25,000 to win, plus an additional $25,000 in lap leader money. Last year’s winner, Bubba Pollard took home more than $28,000 last year for his efforts in becoming the first southern driver to win the Oxford 250 since 1983.

While no one in the last two decades has led more than Joey Polewarcyzk’s 205 laps in 2012, if a driver could somehow manage to lead all 250 laps, they would take home $50,000 for the win.

The huge weekend of racing at Oxford Plains Speedway as part of the 250 on Aug. 23-25 will see a variety of cars from across the spectrum of short track racing.  On Saturday, Aug. 24, the ACT Late Models will return to Oxford Plains Speedway, along with the Tour-Type Modifieds of the Tri-Track Open Modified Series.

Drivers like Ron Silk, Matt Hirschman, Woody Pitkat, Matt Swanson, Andy Jankowiak and more are all expected to compete on The Night Before The 250 at Oxford Plains.

Before all that can happen, the PASS Super Late Model racers will have to survive this weekend’s Honey Badger Bar & Grill 150 and get their cars tuned up for the big race in two weeks. Curtis Gerry won the 250 in 2017 and has been the man to beat lately in weekly competition at Oxford Plains this season.  Gerry believes he and his team or even better prepared going into this year’s race than they were in 2017.

“This will be a great race for us to continue fine tuning, especially our late race strategy,” says Gerry. “Our confidence is high going into the 250, we need a good heat race draw and no issues.”

The see-saw battle for the PASS North Super Late Model championship also continues on Sunday afternoon at Oxford Plains. Following D.J. Shaw’s big win at Spud Speedway last weekend, he has lengthened his lead in the standings as he seeks his fourth series title. Still, he is only 12 points ahead of two-time PASS Oxford winner Garrett Hall and 26 markers ahead of Nick Sweet, who battled with Shaw for the win at Spud.

Joining the title contenders on Sunday at Oxford include, former 250 winners Ben Rowe, Travis Benjamin and Scott Robbins. Six-time PASS North champion Johnny Clark is entered, along with former Oxford Plains track champions Gabe Brown and Tim Brackett. Michael Scorzelli will be making the trip, while Maine racers Ryan Green, Reid Lanpher, Scott McDaniel, John Peters, Bill Rodgers, Trevor Sanborn and Jeff While are also on the pre-entry list.