Derek Griffith Shines Bright At Speedway 95


HERMON, Maine – Reigning Pro All Stars Series National champion Derek Grifithnailed down his second PASS North victory of the season on Father’s Day afternoon in the Hopkins Milling & Paving PASS 150 at Speedway 95.

For Griffith it was his second win at the tricky, banked short track located just outside of Bangor.  Griffith now has four straight podium finishes in PASS competition at Speedway 95.  He got the lead away from hometown Hermon racer Mike Hopkins before driving to victory.

The local favorite was just breaking in a new racecar and while it looked exceptionally quick early on, it was no match for Griffith and the LCM Motorsports No. 12 after the 22-year-old Granite Stater had worked his way into second position after starting the race from 11th spot.

Nick Sweet earned runner-up honors in his first visit to the tricky track and gave some credit to veteran Rowland Robinson.  Sweet and Hopkins seemed to battle for the balance of the race after Griffith took command for good.  Hopkins was the third-place finisher.

Championship points leader Garrett Hall aided his title hopes with a fourth-place performance.  Six-time PASS Northchampion Johnny Clark filled out the top-five rundown.

Kate Re, a 15-year-old Fryeburg Academy sophomore, made her father Rick Re awful proud on Father’s Day, racing to her second PASS Mod win and first this season.  Re led all 40 laps, but it certainly was not without challenge, most notably from Tyler King, in just his second PASS Mod race.

King spent, at least, the final one-third of the race in the outside groove trying to get around Re, but she held her line and fended off King. Mike Carignan grabbed the third-place trophy.

Kyle Hewins cruised to victory lane in a 50-lap Honey Badger Bar & Grill Street Stock Series main event, posting his first victory of the season in the class.

The finish:

Derek Griffith, Nick Sweet, Mike Hopkins, Garrett Hall, Johnny Clark, Travis Benjamin, D.J. Shaw, Gabe Brown, Bobby Therrien, Wyatt Alexander, Nick Jenkins, Gary Smith, Scott Chubbuck, Ben Rowe, Andy Saunders.