Church Captures Mason Dixon Meltdown


KENLY, N.C. – Tyler Church scored his second Pro All Stars Series South late-model triumph of the season during the Mason Dixon Meltdown on Saturday at Southern National Motorsports Park.

Church set fast time in qualifying and started from the pole for the 200-lap event after drawing the No. 1 pill during the redraw. He briefly lost the lead to Trevor Noles during the initial start, but within a dozen laps he from third to retake the lead.

He held the top spot until the lap-100 break. The entire field came down pit road for a 10-minute work period, allowing teams to change four tires and make any adjustments they could to the cars.

Church held serve during the restart, but on lap 110 Derek Ramstrom was able to drive around Church to take the race lead, with Cole Timm following Ramstrom by Church and into second. Church took his time, eventually dispatching Timm before setting his sights on Ramstrom.

With 23 laps left Church made his move, driving under Ramstrom as the two were making their way through lapped traffic. A caution flag with two laps left made things interesting, but Church was able to pull away during the final restart to pick up the victory.

Timm finished second, followed by Roger Lee Newton, Steven Legendre and Joey Doiron. Jay Fogleman finished 12th to clinch both the PASS South and PASS National championships.

Austin Thompson won the companion PASS Pro Late Model Series event. Noles clinched the PASS Pro Late Model Series championship.

The finish:

Tyler Church, Cole Timm, Roger Lee Newton, Steven Legendre, Joey Doiron, Ben Rowe, Derek Ramstrom, Harrison Burton, Trey Mitchell, Joey Measmer, Spencer Davis, Jay Fogleman, Trevor Noles, Joe Heigl, Joey Polewarczyk Jr., Alex Fleming, Brandon Jones, Blake Jones, Kyle Desouza, Bill Catania, Ted Mickelson, Tyler Dippel, Joseph Mursuli, John Batten, Matt Daley, Sheldon McNair, Preston Peltier, Tate Fogleman.

Previous articleCook Walks The Line From 19th
Next articleVIDEO: Mark Webber Says Goodbye is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.