Cassius Clark Conquers IWK 250

Cassius Clark celebrates after winning Saturday's IWK 250. (Ken MacIsaac Photo)
Cassius Clark celebrates after winning Saturday's IWK 250. (Ken MacIsaac Photo)

ANTIGONISH, Nova Scotia – Cassius Clark took home top honors in the annual running of the IWK 250 on Saturday at Canada’s Riverside Int’l Speedway.

Jonathan Hicken continued his hot streak finishing second. Craig Slaunwhite battled Hicken for the final laps and finished third. Donald Chisholm came in fourth. Chisholm piloted the No. 88 with a 1971 Holman and Moody Mustang Boss 302 throw back paint scheme in memory of his Father John Chisholm. Dylan Blenkhorn completed the top five and was the final car that finished on the lead lap.

Clark’s win at the IWK 250 presented by Steve Lewis gives Clark the distinction of becoming the first driver to win all three Maritime 250 lap events, which also include the Toromont Cat 250 and the Speedway 660 Pro Stock 250.

Former NASCAR competitor Kenny Wallace, who was declared the winner of the 2018 edition of the IWK 250 after the original winner was disqualified in post-race technical inspection, finished ninth.

The finish:

Cassius Clark, Jonathan Hicken, Craig Slaunwhite, Donald Chisholm, Dylan Blenkhorn, Kyle Reid, Dylan Gosbee, Waylon Farrell, Kenny Wallace, Lonnie Sommerville, Cole Butcher, Ashton Tucker, Shawn Tucker, Jarrett Butcher, Shawn Turple, Darren MacKinnon, Greg Fahey, Kent Vincent, Sarah McKay, Chris Hughes, Chris Reid, Russell Smith Jr., Shawn Pierce, Craig Ward, Nicholas Naugle, Josh Collins, Marty Prevost, Terry Dougay, Robbie MacEwen, Brandon McFarlane, Greg Proude, John Flemming.