ARCA/CRA Super Series Opens Saturday


ANDERSON, Ind. — Champion Racing Ass’n will open its regular season with this weekend’s traditional season-opening event for the ARCA/CRA Super Series Saturday night at Anderson Speedway.

The famous high-banked quarter-mile race track located in Anderson, Ind., has hosted more Super Series events than any other track since the series’ first ever event on Saturday, April 26, 1997. Anderson Speedway has hosted 50 series events to date. Former two time series champion Brian Ross is the all-time series victory leader at Anderson Speedway with nine victories.

This weekend’s event officially kicks off the new partnership between Champion Racing Association and ARCA with the newly named ARCA/CRA Super Series. The partnership was officially announced last July 28 at the ARCA Racing Series event at Lucas Oil Raceway.

The partnership is providing participants in the ARCA/CRA Super Series with ARCA member benefits, including Participant Accident Insurance. In addition ARCA will provide the 2012 ARCA/CRA Super Series Champion and the 2012 ARCA/CRA Super Series Boyne Machine Company Rookie of the Year with the opportunity to test an ARCA Racing Series car in the open test at Daytona Int’l Speedway in December 2012.

The entry list to date of 30 cars for the Anderson 125 Presented by Great Deals may have the most talented group of drivers the series has ever had for a season opener or for any regular series event.

Several former Anderson series winners top that list including 1997 series Champion Kenny Tweedy who has four series victories at Anderson. Also three time series Champion Scott Hantz and two time series Champion Johnny VanDoorn are entered, both have three series victories apiece at Anderson.

Two-time series Anderson winner Rick Turner is entered along with Florida’s Steve Dorer, winner of last year’s Redbud 300 at Anderson with an exciting last lap pass of Chase Elliott. Peter Cozzolino, who also has one series victory at Anderson, is also entered.

Other top CRA regulars entered for Saturday’s event includes Joe Beaver, Terry Fisher Jr., Jason Dietsch, Brian Campbell, Robert Maynor, Damon Ecoff, Jay Niewiek, Eddie Van Meter, Nick Lay, Mason Mingus and Justin Alsip. The series has a great group of registered Boyne Machine Company Rookie of the Year candidates entered including Johnny Jenkins, Nate Caruth, Mark Lambert, Brett Robinson and Travis Braden.

Two you female racers, who now call North Carolina home, are entered for this weekend’s event. Kenzie Ruston, who became the only female feature winner with CRA at the October series event at Lucas Oil Raceway and Becca Kasten, who dominated the series event last August at Dixie Motor Speedway before running out of fuel while leading the event just after taking the white flag. Both drivers have announced they will compete for the series championship in 2012.