Angola Hosting JEGS/CRA Tour In 2014


SALEM, Ind. – A couple of former long-time traditions will return to the Champion Racing Ass’n Powered by JEGS in 2014.

Angola Motor Speedway, who first hosted a CRA event in 1998, will return to the CRA schedule with a JEGS/CRA All-Stars Tour event on Saturday, July 5. The event will also feature a fireworks display.

Angola hosted 16 ARCA/CRA Super Series events between the 1998 and 2011 seasons, while also hosting a handful of CRA Late Model Sportsman and CRA Street Stock events. The traditional date for many seasons for the ARCA/CRA Super Series events at Angola had always been around the July 4 weekend.

Longtime track owner, the late Dick Poe, decided to bring the series to his track in 1998, the second season for the series. Poe’s longtime driver, hometown favorite Scott Hantz, won a series leading four events at Angola, while former Midwest favorite Bobby Blount has two wins, the first two series events contested at that track. Terry Fisher Jr. won the last series event at Angola in 2011.

Other ARCA/CRA Super Series winners at Angola include Junior Hanley, Tim Felver, JR Roahrig, Kenny Tweedy, Jeff Lane, Eddie Van Meter, Tommy St. John, Mike Kugler and track record holder Brian Rievley.

Angola Motor Speedway was purchased by Ft. Wayne, Ind., businessman Kurt Henry after Poe’s death. The challenging three-eighths-mile track remains as one of the top short track facilities in Indiana.

Wes and Crimson Parrish have been hired to oversee the entire operation of the Angola Motorsport Speedway in 2014. The Parrish’s have been a longtime fixture of the speedway in a variety of ways beginning in the mid 90’s as their vinyl graphics person and working beside the late Jim Amstutz.  In 2001 they were named Track Promoters and have been involved with the track during all but a couple of years since.