Perley Nabs 8th Oswego ISMA Win


OSWEGO, N.Y. — Chris Perley made a triumphant return to Oswego Speedway victory lane Saturday night but it was not entirely a joyous one.

On May 2, ISMA and the area-racing world lost a legend and a great friend when Irish Jack Murphy died. In his honor the ISMA season opener was lengthened to 56 laps as a tribute to the famed driver who drove the Shamrock 6.

Murphy had been an integral part of ISMA since its inception. For Perley, it was an eighth win at Oswego keeping him atop the all-time winged win list since 1992.

“I just want to dedicate this race and I’m sure everyone does, to Jack Murphy. He was such a part of ISMA for all these years,” said Perley. “Since I was a pup he’s been running around here and you could never make him quit. He was so dedicated. He and Delores are such a part of this organization. I’m really going to miss him. I spent a lot of time talking with him over the years. I don’t think there is anybody here that can say anything bad about him. He’ll really be missed. Our hearts go out to Delores and the family.”

Lou Cicconi, who set a track record during qualifying, finished second with Mark Sammut, Ray Graham and Bobby Dawson completing the top five.

A.J. Bernys won the small-block supermodified feature.

The finish:

Chris Perley, Lou Cicconi, Mark Sammut, Ray Graham, Bobby Dawson, Tim Jedrzejek, Jon McKennedy, Bobby Magner, Dave McKnight, Bob Reis, Alison Cumens, Brandon Bellinger, Mike Lichty, Dan Lane, Ed Witkum Jr., Ryan Coniam, Dan Bowes, Rob Summers, Tim Ice, Dan Connors Jr., Shaun Gosselin, Lou LeVea Sr., Mike Keeler, Lou LeVea Jr.