Pro Cup Opening 2013 Saturday At Dillon


MOORESVILLE, N.C. – The X-1R Pro Cup Series will kick off its 17th year of racing in 2013 with this weekend’s Pee Dee 250 presented by X-1R at the Dillon (S.C.) Motor Speedway.

Over the previous 16 years the series has hosted the most competitive short track racing in the country, producing both former and current NASCAR Sprint Cup Series drivers along the way.

Joey Logano, Trevor Bayne and Regan Smith are just a few of the current NASCAR stars the series has produced over the years.

The 2013 season appears to be no different as an influx of rookie drivers such as Eric Gerchek, Brady Boswell, and Reid Wilson will do battle with current series veterans J.P. Morgan and Bill Plemons Jr. over the course of the year just to name a few.

“We’ve worked hard this off season there’s no doubt about it,” said Morgan, the defending series champion. “Kicking the season off at Dillon couldn’t be a better way to start the year off for me because it’s one of my favorite tracks we race at, and any racer will tell you, it’s always easier to get around a track that you love.”

The addition of four-time series champion Clay Rogers, who is making his return to the series after last racing in Pro Cup in 2011, to compete for the first of 14 $10,000 winner checks at Dillon this weekend has many race fans in the Pee Dee region excited.

Not only will Rogers and the rest of the field have the quest of beating one another to the checkered flag, but the toughest test at Dillon for competitors, as always, is getting your car to handle at both ends of the egg shaped race track for 250 laps.