Pettit Conquers The Bullring


LAS VEGAS — Jim Pettit II won the 121-lap SPEARS Southwest Tour event Saturday night at The Bullring at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

David Ross led the 29-car field to the opening green flag. Jim Pettit, who started second, took command of the race on the first lap. The race was halted on lap six for a seven-car crash on the front straightaway.

The car of Tracy Bolin landed upside-down in turn one. Also involved were Dave Byrd, Jason Gilbert, Scott Sanchez, Jeremy Doss, Troy Ermish and Keith Spangler. Several cars were eliminated in the crash but no one was injured.

Greg Pursley started in fifth place and took second from Cody Hodgson on lap 10. By lap 20, the Petit II-Pursley duo had a full straightaway lead on Hodgson in third. But it was not Pursley’s night: his car suddenly slowed on lap 26 and he retired to the pits. Meanwhile, Jonathon Gomez now was in second place behind Pettit. At the halfway point, it was Pettit, Gomez, last year’s winner Derek Thorn, Hodgson and Ross.

Thorn fought his way into second place and hounded Pettit over the final 30 laps but could not find the opening he needed and was forced to settle for second place.

Ryan Cansdale took the lead from Anthony Gianone on lap 21 and went on to win the first 25-lap SRL S2 Late Model feature.

Noah Gragson won the hotly contested 20-lap Legend Cars Semi-Pro/Young Lions feature.

Caden Carlin won the 12-lap IAPMO Silver Star Plumbing PHCC feature ahead of Kailey Boersma and Phillip Root.

Ian Anderson remains undefeated in the Thunder Car division.