Hirschman Masters Shangri-La II


TIOGA CENTER, N.Y. – Matt Hirschman collected the win in the Race of Champions Asphalt Modified Tour RoC-N-Concrete Rumble at Shangri-La II Motor Speedway on Sunday.

Hirschman is now two for two in 2013 with the Race of Champions Asphalt Modified Tour and has let the other competitors know that the drive for a repeat championship is alive and well.

Mike Leaty drew the pole and started alongside second generation driver Nick Pecko. Jimmy Zacharias charged from his third starting spot to take the lead in turn four as lap one clicked off on the score board. Zacharias had Brian DeFebo on his back deck as the pair set a blistering pace, pulling away from the rest of the pack.

The dominance of the Zacharias ride at Shangri-La II showed as he opened up a two second lead over DeFebo when the first of three cautions flew when Kyle Ebersole spun entering turn two.

While keeping the car off of the wall, Ebersole brought the car to the pits to check the tires. The restart saw Zacharias and Brian DeFebo pull away from the field again, but Mike Leaty, Nick Pecko and T.J. Potrzebowski stayed within seven or eight car lengths. Lap fifteem had

Hirschman passed Potrzabowski for fifth at this point and began to close on the leaders. Hirschman’s set-up kicked in, and he took fourth position from Pecko on lap 23.