Mitchell Collects First Clash Triumph


FAYETTEVILLE, N.C. — Dustin Mitchell claimed his first Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series triumph Saturday evening at Fayetteville Motor Speedway.

A number of drivers took turns at the front of the field, but Steve Blackburn held the top spot during a restart with four laps remaining. Blackburn edged Mitchell by less than a car length for the victory, but he was disqualified in post-race tech when his late model came up short of the minimum weight requirement during inspection.

Randle Chupp was credited with finishing second. Justin Labonte, Jay Sessoms and Dean Bowen completed the top five.

The finish:

Dustin Mitchell, Randle Chupp, Justin Labonte, Jay Sessoms, Dean Bowen, Jeff Smith, David Taylor, Michael Mason, Ricky Weeks, Chuck Smith, Raymond Brown, Walker Arthur, Timmy Blackwell, Michael Marlowe, Chris Ferguson, Jim Rasey, Brian Ledbetter, Dennis Franklin, Craig Shuffield, Donald Bradsher, Travis Hair, Chris Meadows, Steve Blackburn.