McKennedy Earns First ISMA Triumph


LEE, N.H. — After getting washed out by rain Aug. 10 at Lee USA Speedway, the International SuperModified Ass’n returned to the track Friday night and almost lost another one to weather once again.

But this time thanks to a rearranging of the schedule by Lee officials, the Ollie Silva Memorial event was completed. Jon McKennedy, driving the Dunigan No. 79, started outside pole, pulled quickly away from the field and never let up to win his career-first ISMA event beating out the imminent showers.

Although victory lane ceremonies were shelved in order to get the rest of the program completed, the pit area sufficed for photos and interviews.

“We had a really good car tonight. First I want to thank all the crew,” McKennedy said. “They worked really hard today. Going into the race I felt really confident. We had a good car during practice, even on really old tires the car was balanced pretty good still really fast which is a tough thing to do here. There’s not much grip out there so that’s what I focused on all day to give the car good drivability and a good setup for tire wear. That’s what we ran and it worked. We led the whole race which is awesome. I want to give special thanks to Paul and Helen Dunigan for letting me run this car. It’s awesome. They have been awesome to me and I’m glad I can get them a win and put the name back in the series up on top. It just feels really good.”

Trailing McKennedy for much of the swift race which saw only two yellows, was Johnny Benson Jr.

Eddie Witkum Jr., Lou Cicconi Jr. and Tim Ice filled the top five.

The finish:

Jon McKennedy, Johnny Benson, Eddie Witkum Jr., Lou Cicconi Jr., Tim Ice, Jon Gambuti, Mike Ordway Sr., Russ Wood, Rob Summers, Timmy Jedrzejek, Dan Bowes, Mark Sammut, Justin Belfiore, Mike Lichty, Dave Duggan, B.J. McDonald, Jeff Locke, Jamie Timmons, Craig Rayvals.


Previous articleTesch Ends USMTS Dry Spell
Next articleDover Stops Brown At Lakeside is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.