Majeski Masters Hawkeye Downs

Ty Majeski (91) won Saturday's ARCA Midwest Tour race at Hawkeye Downs Speedway. (Mike Ruefer photo)
Ty Majeski (91) won Saturday's ARCA Midwest Tour race at Hawkeye Downs Speedway. (Mike Ruefer photo)
Ty Majeski (91) won Saturday’s ARCA Midwest Tour race at Hawkeye Downs Speedway. (Mike Ruefer photo)

CEDAR RAPIDS, Iowa — Ty Majeski won Saturday night’s ARCA Midwest Tour late model feature at Hawkeye Downs Speedway.

Majeski’s night started out winning the VDL Fuel Systems Fast Qualifier Award. After finishing fourth in his heat race, he started on the inside of the fourth row in the 100 lap feature event. The rest of the night belonged to him, but it wasn’t without one of the biggest battles the ARCA Midwest Tour has seen this season.

Majeski and Nathan Haseleu put on a show that had to be seen to be believed. Haseleu had taken the lead from Jason Weinkauf who started on the outside of the front row next to pole sitter Nick Murgic. Haseleu was waiting for the two to shake out their differences. Murgic started to slip back on the outside giving Haseleu the opening for second.

Haseleu quickly reeled in Jason Weinkauf and took over the top spot, but Ty Majeski wasn’t too far behind making a bump and run move on Jonathan Eilen and taking over the fourth spot. He continued to move through the field making his way up to Haseleu and started a side-by-side battle for the lead.

As Majeski looked to the inside, Haseleu held his line. The two were door handle to door handle. Haseleu would get a good run down the backstretch and going into turn three, but Majseki would get a slight advantage coming out of four and going down the frontstretch. The two continued the battle side by side lap after lap, after lap.

As they encountered lapped traffic, Majeski made a risky move making a lapped car sandwich hoping to come out ahead, but once again Haseleu held his ground and the two were side by side. At the halfway point the two were still going at it. They touched a little bit at one point and it looked like Majeski had the advantage, but Nathan wasn’t giving up.

As the two continued to race hard, Chris Weinkauf had snuck up into the mix. Majeski now had to play a little bit of defense and offense at the same time. It looked like the battle was never going to end. The two once again encountered lapped traffic, but this time Majeski played it safe. This allowed Haseleu to gain a little bit of breathing room as Weinkauf also slipped back several car lengths.

But it didn’t take long before Majeski was right back on Haseleu’s heals and the battle started all over again. They were side by side down the backstretch. This time Nathan allowed him by and tried to make the crossover move but it didn’t happen. Majeski started to pull away by a car length or two and once again, Chris Weinkauf returned into the mix a little bit.

With 25 laps to go, Chris Weinkauf had now closed in on the back bumper of Haseleu making the move into the second spot. Majeski now had a half straightaway lead over the entire field and quickly put about 12 car lengths between him an Haseleu.

By this time Brian Campbell had moved into fourth. Weinkauf was gaining on Majeski as the laps wound down.

With 10 laps to go Majeski was still holding his own followed by Chris Weinkauf and Nathan Haseleu and that’s how it remained when the checkered flag flew. Griffin McGrath and James Swan rounded out the top five.

The finish:

Ty Majeski, Chris Weinkauf, Nathan Haseleu, Griffin McGrath, James Swan, Nick Barstad, Cardell Potter, Jonathan Eilen, Jason Weinkauf, Brennan Willard, Brent Kirchner, Jeff Choquette, Brian Campbell, Nick Murgic, Matt Kocourek, Brian Gibson.