Hoar, Paya Honored During ACT Banquet


SOUTH BURLINGTON, Vt. — Seven-time American-Canadian Tour champion Brian Hoar was honored for his 2010 ACT late-model championship Saturday during the series awards banquet at the Sheraton-Burlington Hotel.

Hoar earned three wins and never finished outside the top 10 in the 13 events during the 2010 season, earning him the $10,000 champions check. The championship was his second in a row with car owner and crew chief Rick Paya, who has also won seven titles as a crew chief and owner. Paya also won the ACT Crew Chief of the Year Award.

The 42nd annual MacTavish Award was given to two-time Série ACT Castrol Edge champion Donald Theetge for his dedication to Northeast stock car racing and ACT for over two decades. The MacTavish Award is named for legendary New England racer Don MacTavish who was killed in 1969 while racing at Daytona Int’l Speedway.

The 2010 Thunder Road Int’l Speedbowl late-model championship honors went to hometown favorite Nick Sweet. Thunder Road also crowned its 2010 Bond Auto Tiger Sportsman champion, Tony Rossi.

Multi-time Lee USA Speedway Champion Wayne Helliwell, Jr. and car owner Bruce Berhardt were honored as the winners of the first Ford Blue Oval Cup Challenge.

Jason Bonnett earned the 2010 Bond/WIX Tiger Tour title and the Allen Lumber street-stock title went to three-time 2010 feature winner Mike MacAskill.

The second annual Pete Hartt Memorial Media Award went to Stefan Hard of the Times Argus. The 2010 Ken Squier Award was given to WDEV Radio based in Waterbury, Vt.

The Gordon R. Nielsen Rookie Achievement Award went to Jason Corliss. Sportsmanship and Most Improved Driver Awards were handed out to all four Thunder Road divisions as well as the American-Canadian Tour. ACT Late Model Tour winners were Mark Lamberton (Sportsmanship Award) and Jeff Zuidema )Most Improved Driver Award).

Thunder Road late-model awards went to Brooks Clark (Sportsman) and Matt White (Most Improved). The Bond Auto Tiger Sportsman awards were presented to Mike Ziter (Sportsman) and Eric Badore (Most Improved).

The 2010 Ed Carroll Memorial Award for Sportsmanship in the Allen Lumber street stocks went to Jamie Davis. The Junkyard Warrior Sportsmanship Award was given to Kevin Dodge.