Entry List Climbs To 60 For Oxford 250


NAPLES, Maine – As the 42nd annual AIM Recycling Oxford 25 Presented By Kenny U-Pull approaches in less than two weeks at Maine’s Oxford Plains Speedway, the entry list continues to grow for North America’s greatest short track event.

Currently, 11 states and two Canadian provinces are represented in the impressive list of drivers who have entered so far for this impressive race.  Veteran Patrick Laperle becomes the 60th driver to pre-enter for this year’s edition of the event.  Since the American-Canadian Tour (ACT) has taken the week off, Laperle, along with former ACT champions Wayne Helliwell Jr. and Brian Hoar, will be attempting to make their first starts in the Oxford 250 since 2012.

Several former 250 winners are among those pre-entered, including two-time defending champion Travis Benjamin, 2012 winner Joey Polewarcyzk Jr., two-time winner Ben Rowe and Mike Rowe, who will be seeking an unprecedented fourth win in the race.

Entering the 42nd annual Oxford 250 weekend as the Pro All Stars Series (PASS) AIM Recycling super late model points leader Mike Rowe will be very aware of fellow championship contenders D.J. Shaw and Joey Doiron as they each seek their first wins in the prestigious event.

Traditionally, the Oxford 250 has attracted drivers from all over North America.  Canadians Don Biederman, Junior Hanley and Dave Whitlock have all tasted victory in the past as have Southerners like Butch Lindley, Bob Pressley and Tommy Ellis.  This year’s race will be no different with drivers and teams from several Canadian provinces and the Southeast being represented.

In addition to Laperle’s recent entry, PASS AIM Recycling Super Late Model regulars Raphael Lessard and Eric St. Gelais will be making the trip from Quebec, while Nova Scotia’s Cole Butcher will be coming to Oxford Plains Speedway seeking his first Oxford 250 win.

A good crop of drivers and teams from the Southeast have filed entries for this year’s AIM Recycling Oxford 250 Presented By Kenny U-Pull.  Tate Fogleman, coming off a season best third place finish recently at South Boston Speedway, will be attempting to make the field for his third start in the 250.  Georgia’s Spencer Davis returns to Oxford Plains for the first time since finishing 10th in the 2013 Oxford 250.

Although Tyler Dippel hails from New York, he hopes to make his first super late model start of the year in the 250 driving for the North Carolina-based Fathead Racing team.  Kyle Busch Motorsports, another North Carolina team, will see Oklahoma’s Christopher Bell behind the wheel in his first super late model action since recently winning the Truck Series event at Eldora.

Jody Measamer will bring the Aquavapor machine to Oxford Plains Speedway as he makes his first attempt at the 250 and North Carolina transplant Derek Kneeland, who doubles as Kyle Larson’s spotter, returns in his own car this year trying to make the 250 after failing to qualify last year.

Also among the recent group of entrants, veteran Tracy Gordon hopes to make his first start in the 250 since 2005, New Hampshire speedster Derrick Griffith, former PASS North champion Cassius Clark, behind the wheel of Rollie MacDonald’s No. 13, and Cola Shay, who becomes the first driver from Pennsylvania to file an entry for this year’s Oxford 250.