Shullick Is The ‘King Of Wings’

Dave Schullick Jr. took home the King of Wings title on Saturday. (Dave Dalesandro photo)
Dan Schullick Jr. took home the King of Wings title on Saturday. (Dave Dalesandro photo)
Dave Schullick Jr. took home the King of Wings title on Saturday. (Dave Dalesandro photo)

OSWEGO, N.Y. – “Last year, Brad (Lichty) lit our fire. This year, he got iced.”

That confident assertion was the first statement to come from King Dave Shullick Jr. VI when he parked his No. 95 Jim Bodnar-built ISMA Supermodified in Victory Lane in Saturday night.

After the performance he had just put on, he had every right to speak loudly and proudly.

Shullick, driving a brand-new blue and silver painted Bodnar chassis aptly nicknamed “Ice”, froze the rest of his competition during Saturday’s Shea Concrete King of Wings VI 50-lap ISMA Supermodified feature event at the Oswego Speedway. Shullick powered around the inside of six-time ISMA champion Chris Perley on Lap 27 and never looked back, driving away to a near-full straightaway advantage at times and weathering a caution with fifteen laps remaining to claim the king’s cape and crown after finishing second in last year’s King of Wings.

The victory was Shullick’s first King of Wings triumph in his second attempt, his first win of the season and his eighth career International SuperModified Association victory.

“The car was just awesome tonight. I can’t thank Jim Bodnar enough; he builds one heck of a machine. It’s the first time (the car) has ever had a full fuel load in it. We didn’t know what it was going to do. For it to be that good, I was shocked. It’s just awesome to win this race.”

Shullick had to drive from eighth on the grid to get to the front, but his cause was aided by several early yellows. The first caution flew on the opening lap when the 55 and 96 cars of Mike Keeler and Lou LeVea Sr. tangled in turn 4, and the second came on Lap 3 when a five car melee in turn 3 eliminated three-time KoW runner-up Tim Ice, defending champ ‘Liquid’ Lou Cicconi and defending Rookie of the Year Allison Cumens.

Both Shullick and defending King Mike Lichty began dicing their ways to the front, with Lichty scooting by Locke for fourth on lap 22 and Shullick making his race-winning pass five laps later, but Lichty was not done gunning for the front of the field. The 2012 series champion grabbed third from Ben Seitz just before the caution came out for the final time on lap 35, when the 97 of Ryan Gath pounded the outside wall in turn 4.

Shullick ran away with the win over the final stretch run. Perley withstood several spirited charges by Lichty to hang onto the runner-up spot, with Locke and Seitz rounding out the top five behind the two former series champions.

Perley said after the race that he just didn’t have enough to hang with Shullick once the 95 got out front.

“The first place car finished first, and the second place car finished second tonight,” Perley said. “I just didn’t have enough for Shullick there; he was super fast tonight and he sure earned this win.”

The finish:

Dave Shullick Jr.; Chris Perley; Mike Lichty; Jeff Locke; Ben Seitz; Jon McKennedy; Rob Summers; Otto Sitterly; Dan Bowes; Ryan Coniam; Mark Sammut; Justin Belfiore; Ed Witkum Jr; Craig Rayvals; Chartier; Keith Gilliam; Moe Lilje;  Ryan Gath; Mike Keeler; Dave Duggan; Bobby Magner; Trent Stephens; Dave McKnight; Lou Cicconi; Alison Cumens; Tim Ice;