Locke Conquers Sunset Supermodified Run

Jeff Locke won Sunday's ISMA supermodified race at Ontario's Sunset Speedway. (Jim Feeney photo)
Jeff Locke won Sunday's ISMA supermodified race at Ontario's Sunset Speedway. (Jim Feeney photo)
Jeff Locke won Sunday’s ISMA supermodified race at Ontario’s Sunset Speedway. (Jim Feeney photo)

INNISFIL, Ontario — Four years after his first ISMA supermodified victory, Jeff Locke picked up his second career ISMA win in the inaugural race at Sunset Speedway Sunday afternoon.

This time he was no rookie and it showed as he took the lead on the first lap of the 75-lapper and stayed out front for the entire distance. One thing that disappointed Locke about this achievement was the one person absent from his career first, his dad Ken, was also absent from his career second. Jeff commented on this in the post-race interview before the huge crowd, which had, came for the race.

“This kills me. My dad isn’t here. This is my second win and the second time my father hasn’t been here.” Locke said. “It’s killing me. Brian Allegresso, Doc Hathaway, Jerry Martel, made this long trip out here for me and to work on this racecar. I am proud and privileged to drive this car. My father, Ken, gives us everything we need. Unfortunately, he couldn’t be here but I know he’s excited back home.”

Locke’s main competitor throughout the event was rookie Alison Cumens who scored her second podium finish in this her first full year of ISMA competition.

“Our car was super tight right in the center of the corner and loose coming off,” she explained. “Maybe I could have caught Jeff on that last restart, but it’s a big maybe. If anything I would have really had to drive it in hard and get underneath him and kind of shoo him out of the way. I didn’t really get that chance. Maybe next time. Thanks to the people who got me here – Mom, Dad, Lou, Janet, a bunch of random strangers who helped us throughout the weekend, and everyone at home.”

Ryan Coniam, Ben Seitz and Jon McKennedy filled the top five.

The finish:

Jeff Locke, Alison Cumens, Ryan Coniam, Ben Seitz, Jon McKennedy, Tim Ice, Rob Summers, Moe Lilje, Mark Sammut, Dan Bowes, Lou Cicconi, Johnny Benson, Dave McKnight, Ryan Litt, Mike Lichty.


Previous articlePrunty Back On The Board At Slinger
Next articleSanders Stars In Granite City USMTS
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.