Bob Bond Claims International Classic


OSWEGO, N.Y. – Bob Bond led the final 46 laps en route to victory in Sunday afternoons 57th annual Budweiser International Classic for supermodifieds at Oswego Speedway.

Davey Hamilton, who went to victory lane as an owner in the IZOD IndyCar Series when Simon Pagenaud won in Baltimore, dominated the first half of the race. Hamilton led the first 101 laps before giving up the lead to Pat Lavery on lap 102.

Lavery led until lap 154, when Bond took over the top spot shortly after a restart on lap 151. One final caution flag waved on lap 184, setting up an 11-lap dash to the finish. Bond would not be denied however as he held off Otto Sitterly for the victory.

Shaun Gosselin was third, followed by top rookie Ryan Litt and Dave Gruel.

The finish:

Bob Bond, Otto Sitterly, Shaun Gosselin, Ryan Litt, Dave Gruel, Jeff Locke, Dave Danzer, Michael Barnes, Bobby Haynes Jr., Pat Lavery, Joey Payne, Brandon Bellinger, Tim Jedrzejek, Dan Connors Jr., Davey Hamilton, Joe Gosek, Ray Graham, Jerry Curran, Dave Shullick Jr., Lou LeVea Jr., Tim Devendorf, Bob Magner, Jessica Zemken, Shawn Muldoon, Hal LaTulip, Lou LeVea Sr., Michael Muldoon, Keith Shampine, Tim Snyder, Mike Lichty, Dave Cliff, Dave McKnight, Jeff Abold, Joe Chillemi.