Increased Point Fund, Playoffs For NSTA Modifieds

The NSTA Top Speed Modified Tour will offer a $10,000 point fund and utilize a playoff system for the 2017 season.

CARMEL, Ind. – NSTA Top Speed Modified Tour officials have announced an increased point fund and a new playoff system ahead of the new season.

The point fund for the series this year will be $10,000. The Tour champion will be crowned through a seven-race playoff-style format with 12 drivers competing for the championship.

Similar to the NASCAR Playoffs, drivers will qualify for the championship through the first 10 races of the season. Race winners and top point earners will be selected as part of the 12-team playoff field. At the end of each round, the field will be reduced until four drivers remain for a winner-take-all championship race at Winchester (Ind.) Speedway.

“This point fund represents a significant increase for the Tour. We wanted to raise the stakes for our teams in 2017. In order to attract elite drivers and encourage them to compete throughout the season, we needed to invest in a significant point fund,” said John Robbins, series director for the NSTA Top Speed Modified Tour. “The new playoff format will bring additional excitement throughout the season for our fans and will present a new challenge to our drivers.”

The race for playoff spots will begin at Lucas Oil Raceway in Clermont, Ind. (April 2) and will conclude at Dixie Motor Speedway in Birch Run, Mich. (July 14). Race winners will automatically clinch a playoff spot. Round one of the playoffs will span three races: Toledo Speedway (July 21), Anderson Speedway (July 29) and Winchester Speedway (Aug. 4). Eight drivers will advance to round two: Lebanon I-44 Speedway (Aug. 26), Winchester Speedway (Sep. 4) and Lucas Oil Raceway (Sep. 24).

The champion will be crowned at Winchester Speedway during the historic Winchester 400 weekend (Oct. 7). Four drivers will race for the championship with the highest finishing driver clinching the championship. The champion will earn $2,000 and Rookie of the Year will earn $1,000. In addition to cash awards for the top 12 teams, more than $2,500 in additional non-cash awards has already been pledged for the season championship.

“The NSTA Top Speed Modified Tour is going to be the place to race in 2017. The number of teams already committed to the Tour is unprecedented. We have drivers from many different disciplines and several former Tour champions. The level of competition in the Tour this season will be exceptional,” said Robbins.