Myers Defends His Turf During North-South Shootout


HICKORY, N.C. – Burt Myers made sure the North-South Shootout trophy stayed in the south with a victory in the annual event for tour-type modifieds Saturday at Hickory Motor Speedway.

Myers spent most of the race dueling with Jon McKennedy for the race lead. Both men spent time at the front of the field before they both hit the pits for fresh tires late in the race.

That gave the top spot to Anthony Nocella, but he was no match for Myers and his fresh tires as the North Carolina drive raced to his third North-South Shootout triumph and first since 2009, when the event was held at Concord Speedway.

Andy Seuss overcame a 22nd-place starting position to finish second in the 150-lap race, followed by McKennedy, Andy Jankowiak and Austin Kochenash.

In the companion PRA Tours Super Late Model Series event, late model stock car veteran Josh Berry collected his first victory in a super late model after overcoming a transmission issue that dropped him off the lead lap early in the race.

Once the issue was resolved, Berry got back on the lead lap and was able to race back through the field to win the race ahead of Nolan Pope, Brandon Setzer, Tate Fogleman and Cory Casagrande.

This was the first year the North-South Shootout has been held at Hickory Motor Speedway. It was most recently held at Concord (N.C.) Speedway in 2018.

The finish:

Burt Myers, Andy Seuss, Jon McKennedy, Andy Jankowiak, Austin Kochenash, Patrick Emerling, Jason Myers, Chase Dowling, Matt Hirschman, Tim Brown, John Smith, Cameron Sontag, Calvin Carroll, James Civali, Todd Owen, Tyler Truex, Anthony Nocella, Johnny Sutton, Les Hinckley, Danny Propst, Tom Buzze, Andrew Krause, Chris Finnocchario, Jeremy Gerstner, Mike Norman, Timmy Solomito, Randall Richard, Zane Zeiner.