More Money For ‘Big Money’ Matt Hirschman

Matt Hirschman (center) took home $10,000 for winning the American Racer 100 on Saturday. (Steve Petty Photo)

PERRY, N.Y. – Matt Hirschman is now $10,000 richer after earning his first victory at Wyoming County Int’l Speedway during the third running of American Racer 100 for tour-type modifieds on Saturday.


“We rode around for the first half of the race but when the second half of the race rolled around and after the first caution, we decided to come in and get the new tire and the car was fast all day,” said Hirschman in victory lane. “I always love coming here to Perry, the track is racy and we’ve always had good success here.”

Chuck Hossfeld and Austin Kochenash were on the front row for the third running of the American Racer 100, with Hossfeld showing the way from the start. Eric Beers took second away from Kochenash on lap three and began to chase down Hossfeld. Throughout the races early stages, the field was single file for the top dozen or so positions. Hirschman would start working his way up through the field from his sixth starting spot as we worked around John Fortin to move into the fourth position on lap 15.

Hossfeld would hit lap traffic by lap 20 as he started to pull away from Eric Beers and Kochenash. While the field was strung around the third-mile bullring, Kochenash would catch Beers and would battle for the second position. T.J. Zacharias would slow in turn two to bring out the first caution on lap 57.

As most of the leaders went into the pits, Jimmy Zacharias, Brian DeFebo, and Tony Hanbury stayed on the track to take over the top three spots. On the restart, DeFebo would take the lead away from Jimmy Zacharias with Hossfeld moving into third. Chris Ridsdale spun in turn three to bring out the races second caution on lap 58. Brian DeFebo’s strong run came to an end on lap 60 after slowing entering turn three, as Daniel Majchrzak and Bill Mislin got together trying to avoid the slowing DeFebo.

The restart with around 40-laps remaining would see Jimmy Zacharias and Chuck Hossfeld on the front row, but it was Eric Beers and Matt Hirschman moving into second and third, behind Jimmy Zacharias. Austin Kochenash and Mike Leaty got together on the front straightaway to bring out the red flag on lap 63.

Both Kochenash and Leaty climbed out of their racecars under their own power. Eric Beers would take the lead on the restart as Matt Hirschman moved into second, shifting Zacharias back to third. Hirschman would look underneath Beers for the lead on lap 66 and would take the lead on lap 67. Andy Jankowiak would move into the top five on lap 70 after passing Barber. Tony Hanbury came to a stop in turn four to bring out the caution on lap 89.

Hirschman would lead the final 11 circuits to grab the victory in the American Racer 100. Beers finished second, followed by Jimmy Zacharias in third.


Zach Myers led every lap to score the win in the Super Stock division. Bob Ripley fwas victorious in the CAMS Modified exhibition event.

The finish:

Matt Hirschman, Eric Beers, Jimmy Zacharias, Chuck Hossfeld, Andy Jankowiak, Camden Barber, Daren Scherer, Jack Ely, J.B. Fortin, Patrick Emerling, Kirk Totten, Daryl Lewis Jr., Jon Kay, Bryan Sherwood, Chris Ridsdale, Neal Dietz Jr., Billy Mislin, Tony Hanbury, Austin Kochenash, Mike Leaty, Brian DeFebo, Alan Bookmiller, Daniel Majchrzak, T.J. Zacharias, Scott Wylie.