It’s Mike Lichty In Oswego ISMA Run

Mike Lichty

OSWEGO, N.Y. — Canadian Mike Lichty brought home the second ISMA Supernationals win of his supermodified career Saturday night at Oswego Speedway, driving the Reed’s Salvage, Patco Transportation No. 84 to victory lane in the 24th running of the event on Budweiser Classic Weekend.

Lichty started on the outside pole, passed polesitter Chris Perley on the outside on lap one and never looked back, earning the fifth Oswego checkered flag of his career and the first since May of 2016.

“It’s been awhile since we’ve been in victory lane here at Oswego,” Lichty said. “I have to thank Craig Reed, my father, Patco Transportation and everyone involved for a great effort. We have no plans to run Star or Thompson later this year so it’s nice go out with a win for this team.”

Perley, who is the all-time winningest ISMA driver not only in series history but also on Classic Weekend, ended up finishing in the runner up spot. The ‘Rowley Rocket’ is pulling double duty this Classic Weekend, also driving the Eddie Shea owned No. 44 Hawk Chassis Supermodified in the Budweiser International Classic 200.

“Our car was good tonight, I have to thank Eddie (Shea) and the whole team,” Perley said. “After Mike (Lichty) got me I just was never quite close to him enough to have anything to go for the win, but I’m happy for our team and I’m happy for Lichty. We will give it a shot in the 200 tomorrow.”

Finishing out the podium was Trent Stephens, the 2016 King of Wings champion, who has had a rather impressive season with the ISMA tour that included a victory at Lancaster Speedway.

“We had an awesome car today. right off the trailer it was great,” Stephens said. “Disappointed we only have a third to show for it, but the top five cars tonight were pretty quick. We tightened it up too much for the feature, so there was some more speed to be had. Just glad we had a good result after the crew busted their butts after Delaware.”

The finish:

Mike Lichty, Chris Perley, Jon McKennedy, Trent Stephens, Mark Sammut, Mike McVetta, Tim Jedrzejek, Kyle Edwards, A.J. Lesiecki, Jason Spaulding, Lou LeVea Sr., Dan Bowes, Dave McKnight, Moe Lilje, Tim Snyder, Rich Reid, Michael Muldoon