Entries Pouring In For Tri-Track Open Modified Series


SEEKONK, Mass. – The COVID-19 pandemic may have delayed the start of the Tri-Track Open Modified Series season, but the list of entered drivers and car owners continues to grow just more than a month before the first scheduled green flag.

For those who haven’t seen, the start of the season has been delayed until May 9 at Monadnock Speedway – but that date is fluid, depending on how the pandemic develops. As of this writing, the entire schedule remains in place, with Monadnock on May 9 and Claremont Speedway on May 24 opening the season.

“We’re still on target for May 9 as of now,” said Wayne Darling, one of two Managing Partner’s for the Tri-Track Open Modified Series. “Our registrations are growing daily – with some stout talent lined up to compete for a large purse. We also want to remind everyone about the Pepsi Challenge, which will pay heat race winners in 2020.”

A former series champion and countless winners are on the current entry list — one filled with talent from top to bottom. Defending series champion Ronnie Williams is looking to repeat in 2020, with car owner Gary Casella, as the combination comes back fired up and ready for more. They were able to visit victory lane at Seekonk Speedway last year as part of the $10,000 to win Open Wheel Wednesday before earning their crown.

Ron Silk and Chase Dowling, two drivers who earned victories last year, are both back with the same team. Silk teams with Bob Horn, as Dowling teams with Jimmy Paige. The NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour is also well represented.

Matt Swanson, who drives for the historic Boehler Racing on the tour, will drive for Larry Westgate in a car prepared by Boehler Racing, carrying the famed ‘Ole Blue’ colors. Woody Pitkat, who is back teaming with Stan Mertz, returns to wheel the No. 6, while former NASCAR Modified Tour Rookie of the year Calvin Carroll returns to Tri Track for another round.

On the veteran front, Kirk Alexander, Les Hinckley and Tommy Barrett are coming back.

Weekly SK Modified racers from Stafford Speedway set to compete with Tri Track in 2020 include Matt Galko and Andrew Molleur, one of many upcoming Modified stars. Mike Willis, who earned his first Tri Track win last year at his home track of Claremont, is coming back, this time with car owner Cam McDermott. Rising stars Ryan Doucette, Dylan Izzo, Brian Robie and Derek Robbie are also on the list.

Additional entries include Jim Gavek, Andrew Charron, Carl Medeiros Jr., Matt Kimball and Austin Kochenash. Look for car owner Rick Kluth to unload a car with a new number, No. 44, with a driver to be announced.