Ty Gibbs Rules Salem’s High Banks

Ty Gibbs celebrates after winning Saturday's ARCA Menards Series race at Salem Speedway. (ARCA Photo)
Ty Gibbs celebrates after winning Saturday's ARCA Menards Series race at Salem Speedway. (ARCA Photo)

SALEM, Ind. – Ty Gibbs scored a dominant victory in Saturday night’s ARCA Menards Series Kentuckiana Ford Dealers Fall Classic 200 at Salem Speedway.

Gibbs thoroughly dominated the entire day as he led the day’s practice session, set the fast time in General Tire Pole Qualifying,and led every green flag lap to score his second series victory.

“That’s all due to my right foot, the guys who build these great race cars and the man upstairs,” Gibbs said in victory lane. “It’s great to come out here and get our second win of the season. We aren’t racing for the championship so it’s all about wins for us.”

Gibbs finished two seconds ahead of Christian Eckes, who moved to within five points of championship leader Michael Self, who suffered a mechanical problem and finished 14th.

“It’s great to have Salem behind us,” Eckes said. “This isn’t my favorite track and to come out of here with that big of a gain on Michael is huge for us. It sucks we couldn’t get up there and race Ty for the win but we’ll take second and head to Indianapolis and go race for the win there.”

Self was dejected after giving up 65 of his 70-point lead over Eckes.

“We’ve had too many mechanical problems this season,” Self said. “All we want to go is come out here and race for wins. We’re going to put tonight behind us and go to Indy and Kansas to go win some races.”

Corey Heim finished third, Bret Holmes was fourth and Sam Mayer finished fifth.

Just as Chandler Smith did in a dominant performance to win last fall at Salem, Gibbs led every green flag lap. He led from the initial start through lap 172 when he was beat off pit road by Eckes. Gibbs retook the lead on the restart at lap 176 and was never headed.

The finish:

Ty Gibbs, Christian Eckes, Corey Heim, Bret Holmes, Sam Mayer, Joe Graf Jr., Carson Hocevar, Chandler Smith, Travis Braden, Colby Howard, Ed Pompa, Scott Melton, Mike Basham, Michael Self, Tim Richmond, Gavin Harlien, Brian Finney, Brad Smith, Tommy Vigh Jr., Dick Doheny, Benjamin Peterson.